INSURANCE INFORMATION

Assisted Facility Residences: General Liability Insurance is mandatory if you participate in the Medicaid Program as an ACF

(Alternative Care Facility) per 24-10-114 (1)(b) et seq., C.R.S. as amended. Minimum coverage is $600,000 per occurrence and $1
million general aggregate.

Community Residential Homes for Persons with Developmental Disabilities: Are exempt from provisions of the Health Care

Availability Act (HCAA).

All Other Facilities:

With exception of the facilities footnoted below?, the “Health Care Availability Act-Compliance Requirements Policy” is applicable to all
health care institutions licensed by the Department. A health care institution that elects to comply with the Health Care Availability Act
(“HCAA”) by maintaining commercial professional liability insurance coverage in minimum indemnity amounts of five hundred thousand
dollars ($500,000) per incident and three million ($3,000,000) annual aggregate per year?, must establish compliance. Appropriate
insurance information, as required by the Health Care Availability Act (HCAA) (section 13-64-301, C.R.S.) must be submitted to the
Department, please see below for additional information and requirements.
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Facilities must comply with our policy titled “Policy effective as of 01/01/2010”, located at:
http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/hf/pubguide.html. Please note, failure to comply with the provisions of section (1) in the policy
effective 01/01/2010 may result in denial of the license application or a delay in license issuance.

Facilities that elect to maintain insurance coverage with no self-insured retention (“SIR”): By submitting a copy of the
commercial professional liability insurance policy and a certificate of professional liability insurance that clearly
demonstrates that the individual facility meets both the per claim and aggregate per facility coverage as required by the Act
for the term of the license. Please note, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment shall be listed as the
certificate holder on the certificate of professional liability insurance. Additionally, the certificate shall require notification
to the Department of any changes in coverage.

—1 a Ifyouare complying with option 1 above, please indicate so here by checking this box and providing a
copy of the certificate of professional liability insurance as well as a copy of your commercial professional
liability insurance policy. For additional information please see the enclosure titled “Insurance
Guidelines”.

b. Please disregard the above section if you have already submitted your current renewal professional liability
insurance policy to our Division. This may occur if your professional liability insurance policy coverage
does not coincide with the date of your license expiration.

Facilities that elect to maintain insurance coverage that includes a self-insured retention (SIR) amount or deductible
other than $0: In addition to the items listed in number one above, the applicant shall provide the Colorado Department of
Public Health and Environment evidence that the Colorado Division of Insurance (DOI) has approved an alternative form of
establishing financial responsibility as provided in Colorado Insurance Regulation 2-1-1, 3 CCR 702-2. DOI’s regulations
entitled “Requirements for Establishing Financial Responsibility” may be accessed at
http://www.dora.state.co.us/insurance/regs/2-1-1.pdf. Please be reminded that DOI requires applications be submitted not
less than sixty (60) days prior to the date when approval is required or, if prior approval from DOI exists, sixty (60) days in
advance of the expiration date of such approval. For more information, please refer to the URL provided above or contact
Raymond Akers at (303) 894-7836 or Cindy Hathaway at (303) 894-7475.

1 a. Ifyouarecomplying with option 2 above, please indicate so here by checking this box and providing a
copy of the certificate of professional liability insurance. Additionally, please provide the date that you
submitted your “Alternative form of establishing financial responsibility” to DOI: f
DOl has already approved your alternative form of insurance, please enclose a copy of their approval letter.

Alternative Statutory Compliance Options:

It is critical to note that the above referenced policy does not affect the submission of proposed alternatives (e.g. surety bonds,
cash or cash equivalents, other acceptable security) to maintaining commercial professional liability insurance. As specified in
13-64-301 (1)(c) — (e), C.R.S., proposed alternatives continue to require Division of Insurance approval. DOI requires all such
applications to be submitted not less than sixty (60) days prior to the date when approval is required or, if prior approval from
DOl exists, sixty (60) days in advance of the expiration date of such approval. For more information, please refer to
www.dora.state.co.us/insurance/regs/2-1-1.pdf, or contact DOI representatives at the telephone numbers listed in item 2) above.

1 The following facilities are exempt from the requirements of the HCAA: Governmental entities that fall under the Colorado Governmental Immunity Act, outpatient mental
health care facility; including but not limited to a community mental health center or clinic; and, any extended care facility or hospice with sixteen or fewer inpatient beds,
including but not limited to nursing homes or rehabilitation facilities.

2 Or, in the case of Community Clinics and Community Clinics & Emergency Centers, in amounts set forth in 6 CCR 1011-1, Chapter IX, Section 12.
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