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Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations 
Office of Licensing—Electrical 

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350 
Denver, CO  80202 

Phone: (303) 894-7800 / Fax: (303) 894-7693 
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions  

 
APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL REGISTRATION—ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR 

 
APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS 

 
Basic Requirements. In order to perform electrical contracting in the state of Colorado, you must complete a Colorado 
Electrical Contractor’s application, pay the current registration fee, and meet the following criteria: 
 

 You must either be, or employ as a full-time employee, a Colorado-licensed master electrician who is the 
responsible party for all electrical work the company performs. The master electrician must sign an 
Acknowledgment of Responsibility form, and can only be the responsible party for one company at a time. 

 
About the Application. This application is to be completed by you and returned to the Office of Licensing. All questions on 
the application are mandatory, and all supporting documents must be submitted with the application. You may copy as many 
forms as needed; however, each form submitted must be completed in original ink or typed. Keep a copy of the completed 
application for your records. 
  
Application Expiration. Your application will be kept on file for one (1) year from date of receipt in the Division of 
Professions and Occupations. Your file and all supporting documentation will be purged if you do not submit required 
documents and complete your application process in one year. You will need to resubmit a new application packet and 
fee after that time. 
 
Disclosure of Addresses. Consistent with Colorado law, all addresses and phone numbers on record with the Division are 
public record and must be provided to the public when requested. It is your responsibility to keep your address and contact 
information up-to-date in our database. All letters, renewal notices, licenses, and registrations are mailed to the last known 
address of record. If your address is not current, it is possible you will not receive important documents. You can 
change your address online by using Online Services at www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices. 
 
License Expiration Grace Period for New Applicants. Applicants who are issued an electrical contractor registration within 
120 days of the upcoming expiration date will be issued a registration with the subsequent expiration date. For example, 
registrations issued between June 1, 2014, and September 30, 2014, will reflect a registration expiration date of September 
30, 2017. Registrations issued prior to June 1, 2014 will reflect an expiration date of September 30, 2014 and must renew in 
the upcoming renewal period. 
 

 Electrical contractor registrations expire on September 30 of each renewal year and must be renewed to 
continue practicing. 
 

In 2011, new legislation affecting electrician license renewal requirements takes effect. As part of this new legislation, 
electrical contractor registrations will change to a 3-year renewal cycle coinciding with the adoption of a new National 
Electrical Code (NEC) every three years (i.e., in 2011, 2014, 2017, etc.).  
 
Checking Your Application Status. Visit Online Services at www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices to track 
your application from the date we log it in our database to the date your license is printed. Please allow us enough time 
to receive the application through the mail and enter your application into our database before you check the website. We 
recommend waiting at least 10 business days from date of mailing before checking the status of your application. 
  

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions
http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices
http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices
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APPLICANT CHECKLIST 
 
To apply for a Colorado Electrical Contractor registration: 
 

 Submit a completed application and supporting documentation if required.  Return the completed 
application and all supporting documentation to the Office of Licensing. 
 

 Enclose the non-refundable application processing fee. See page 1 of the application form for current fees. Fees 
may be paid by a check or money order drawn in U.S. dollars on a U.S. bank and made payable to State of 
Colorado. All fees are non-refundable and subject to change every July 1. 

 
 Attach the completed Acknowledgment of Responsibility, signed by the Colorado-licensed master electrician 

who is responsible for all electrical work the company performs. 
 

 Include a copy of your Worker’s Compensation coverage certificate, if applicable. If you have one or more 
employees, you must comply with the Worker’s Compensation and Unemployment Compensation laws and provide 
proof of compliance with your application. For further information, contact: 
 
 Office of Unemployment Insurance: (303) 318-9100 / Toll Free: (800) 480-8299 / www.coworkforce.com/uib/   

 Division of Worker’s Compensation: (303) 318-8700 / Toll Free: (888) 390-7936 / www.coworkforce.com/dwc/   
 

 If you have one or more employees and have not yet been assigned an Unemployment Insurance ID Number, 
attach a copy of the application you will file/have filed with the Department of Labor and Employment. For further 
information, contact: 

 
 Office of Unemployment Insurance: (303) 318-9000 / www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDLE-

UnempBenefits/CDLE/1248095315461      

 
 Contact other agencies to obtain more business information, if necessary. 

 
 Out-of-State Corporations are required to obtain an Authority to Conduct Business in the State of Colorado from 

the Colorado Secretary of State’s Office, (303) 894-2200. 

 Colorado Corporations, Limited Liability Companies, and Limited Liability Partnerships should also contact the 
Colorado Secretary of State’s Office, (303) 894-2200. 

 For local requirements, contact the city and/or county government in the area you work. 

 First-time business owners may contact the Colorado Business Assistance Center, (303) 592-5920. 

 For information on obtaining a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), visit the IRS website at 
www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=98350,00.html     

 
Return your completed application packet and all supporting documentation to: 

 
Division of Professions and Occupations  

Office of Licensing—Electrical 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350 

Denver, CO  80202 
 

http://www.coworkforce.com/uib/
http://www.coworkforce.com/dwc/
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDLE-UnempBenefits/CDLE/1248095315461
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDLE-UnempBenefits/CDLE/1248095315461
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=98350,00.html


1560 Broadway, Suite 1350    Denver, Colorado 80202    Phone 303.894.7800 

Fax 303.894.7693    www.dora.state.co.us    V/TDD 711 

  
 

  Lauren Larson 
Director, Division of Professions and 
Occupations 

 

I M P O R T A N T  N O T I C E    

TO:   All Applicants 

FROM:  Director of the Division of Professions and Occupations 

SUBJECT: Licensure and Criminal History 

Thank you for your interest in becoming a licensed* professional within the Division of Professions and 
Occupations.  Before you submit your application, please be aware of a few facts regarding criminal 
conduct, convictions, and disciplinary actions in other states. 

The mission of the Division of Professions and Occupations is “public protection through effective 
licensure and enforcement.”  One way the Division safeguards consumers is by issuing licenses to fully 
qualified, competent, and ethical applicants. 

During the licensing process – and depending on the specific application – the Division may ask 
whether you have ever been disciplined in any state, arrested, charged, convicted, or pled guilty to a 
crime.  An arrest, subsequent criminal conviction, or disciplinary action is not an automatic 
disqualification from licensure. Rather, the appropriate board or program will look at the facts 
surrounding the criminal conduct and disciplinary action in addressing your license application. You 
should know that licensure is a privilege, not a right.  One thing you must do to obtain the privilege is to 
be complete and accurate in disclosing information on your application. 

Be sure to list all relevant complaints, disciplinary actions, arrests, charges, or convictions in response 
to the appropriate licensure questions. Failure to fully and accurately disclose requested criminal 
history information, alone, could constitute grounds for denial of your application or revocation 
of your license. When requested, you must include information regarding prior conduct.  This remains 
the case when the conduct is seemingly unrelated to the activities of a profession, and when the 
conduct involves deferred sentences or judgments.   

Remember, even following licensure, you are still required to notify your professional licensing board or 
program about subsequent convictions and disciplinary actions in other states. 

Please be aware that the Division conducts audits of its licensing database against several criminal and 
national disciplinary databases. This allows the Division to verify the truthfulness of your application 
and track subsequent criminal and disciplinary conduct after initial licensure. Keep in mind, your license 
will not necessarily be revoked, or your application denied,  if you have been disciplined, arrested, 
charged or convicted.  But, you will most likely be denied or revoked if you fail to disclose requested 
information. 

*The word "license" is used as a general term. While most of the professions and occupations are licensed, others may be registered, 
certified, or listed. For precise terminology and requirements related to a profession or occupation, please consult the website of the 
appropriate board or program. 
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Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 
Division of Professions and Occupations 

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350 
Denver, CO 80202 

 
Licensee/Applicant Full Legal Name 

Last First Middle Suffix 

    

 
Colorado Professional or Occupational License/Certification/Registration Number:       

(if already licensed) 
 
Professional or Occupational License/Certification/Registration type applying for: _________________________  
 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY 

 

 
Pursuant to H.B. 06S-1009, C.R.S. 24-34-107, ALL applicants for original licensure* or licensees renewing or reinstating a 
current Colorado license after January 1, 2007 are required to complete and sign this Affidavit of Eligibility. 
 
*The word "licensure" is used as a general term. While most of the professions and occupations are licensed, others may be certified, registered, or 
listed. For precise terminology and requirements related to a profession or occupation, please consult the website of the appropriate board or program. 
 

Section A: LAWFUL PRESENCE in the United States 
1.  I am a U.S. citizen.  Check one of the acceptable secure and verifiable documents in Section B that applies and 

fully complete the information requested. Complete documentation must be provided upon request. 

2.  I am not a U.S. citizen, but I am lawfully present in the U.S. and authorized by the Department of Homeland Security 
to be employed in the U.S.  Check one of the acceptable secure and verifiable documents in Section B that 
applies and fully complete the information requested.  Complete documentation must be provided upon request. 

3.  I am not physically present in the U.S. under 8 U.S.C. sec. 1621 (c)(2)(c) or employed in the U.S. pursuant to 8 U.S.C. 
sec. 1621 (c)(2)(a). Check one option, a or b below, then skip to Section C. (Do not complete Section B.) 

  a.  I am a U.S. citizen, not physically present or employed in the United States. 

  b.  I am a Foreign National, not physically present or employed in the United States. 
 

Section B: SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENTS 
Select ONE document in this section if you checked 1 or 2 in Section A. 

Government Issued 
Identification 

Name of state agency 
or federal agency that 
issued the document 

Full name as shown on driver’s 
license or state/federal issued ID 

License/ID 
Number 

Expiration 
Date 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
 Driver’s license or 

permit     
 Government issued 

ID card     
 Valid U.S. military 

ID/common access 
card     

 Colorado 
Department of 
Corrections inmate 
ID     

 Tribal ID card 
     

 U.S. passport 
     

 Certificate of 
Naturalization     
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Section B: SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENTS (continued) 

Government Issued 
Identification 

Name of state agency 
or federal agency that 
issued the document 

Full name as shown on driver’s 
license or state/federal issued ID 

License/ID 
Number 

Expiration 
Date 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
 Certificate of (U.S.) 

Citizenship     
 Valid Temporary 

Resident card     
 Valid I-94 issued by 

Canadian 
government     

 Valid I-94 with 
refugee/asylum 
stamp     

 Valid I-766 (Employment Authorization Card) 
Issuing federal agency: 
 

Name on card Alien Number (A#) Card Number 
Valid from 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
Expires 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
     

 Valid I-551 (Resident Alien or Permanent Resident Card) 
Issuing federal agency: 
 

Name on card Alien Number (A#) 
Country of 

birth 
Card expires 
(mm/dd/yyyy)

Resident since
(mm/dd/yyyy)

     

 Valid foreign passport with an unexpired visa with proper classification for work authorization, and an unexpired I-94 

Issuing foreign 
country Passport Number Visa Number 

Visa Class  
(ex.: J-1, P-1, 

H-1B, etc.)
Date of entry 
(mm/dd/yyyy)

Until date 
(mm/dd/yyyy)

      
 

 Valid foreign passport bearing an unexpired “Processed for I-551” stamp or with an attached unexpired “Temporary I-551” 
visa 

Issuing foreign country: 
 

Passport Number: 
 

 
Section C: ATTESTATION 

 
• I understand that this sworn statement is required by law because I have applied for or hold a professional or 

commercial license regulated by 8 U.S.C. sec. 1621. I understand that state law requires me to provide proof that I 
am lawfully present in the United States when asked as well as submission of a secure and verifiable document. I may 
also be required to provide proof of lawful presence. 

• I understand that in accordance with sections 18-8-503 and 18-8-501(2)(a)(I), C.R.S., false statements made herein 
are punishable by law. I state under penalty of perjury in the second degree, as defined in 18-8-503, C.R.S. that the 
above statements are true and correct. 

• I am the person identified above and the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I 
understand that under Colorado law, providing false information is grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a 
license, certificate, registration or permit. 

• I understand that the above information must be disclosed to the Department of Regulatory Agencies upon request 
and is subject to verification. 

 
               
Print Full Legal Name  

 
               
Signature (Full Name) Date 
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Division of Professions and Occupations 
Office of Licensing—Electrical 
(303) 894-7800 / Fax (303) 894-7693 
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions  

Application for Original Registration 
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR 

Fee: $210 

The content of this application must not be changed. If the content is changed, the applicant may be referred to the Colorado State Attorney 
General’s Office for violation of Colorado law. 

 
Fees may be paid by a check or money order drawn in U.S. dollars on a U.S. bank and made payable to State of Colorado. 

 
PART 1—BUSINESS INFORMATION 

Company Name: Enter your company name in the blocks below, one letter or character (including commas, dashes, and 
apostrophes) per block. Leave the block empty for a space. Your registration will be issued with the name as it appears 
below. 
 

 
 

 
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN): 

Company Address: PO Box, Street: 

City, State, Zip: 

Daytime Telephone Number: (         ) E-mail Address: 

Preferred method for communication:     Mail   E-mail 

Company Owner(s): 
List all owners (if needed, attach an additional sheet) 

Corporation Name (if different from Company Name): Incorporated  
In the state of: 

Corporation 
Address: 

PO Box, Street: 

City, State, Zip: 

 
PART 2—MASTER ELECTRICIAN AND EMPLOYEE INFORMATION 

Master Electrician License Holder Name:  Last: 
 

First: Middle: Suffix: 

Colorado Master Electrician License Number: Expiration Date: 

Number of employees (Do not include employees with at least 10% ownership in the company): 

If you indicate one or more employees above, you must comply with both the state Worker’s Compensation and 
Unemployment laws. List the following: 

Worker’s Compensation 
Company Name: 

Policy Number: Unemployment Insurance ID Number: 

 
ATTESTATION 
I state under penalty of perjury in the second degree, as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503 that the information contained 
in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. In accordance with C.R.S. 18-8-501(2)(a)(I), 
false statements made herein are punishable by law and may constitute violation of the practice act. 
 
                
Signature of Company Owner/Officer        Date 
 

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions


* Social Security Number Disclosure: Section 24-34-107(1) of the Colorado Revised Statutes requires that every application by an individual for a license issued 
pursuant to the authority set forth in title 12, C.R.S., by the Department of Regulatory Agencies, shall require the applicant's social security number. Disclosure of 
your social security number is mandatory for purposes of establishing, modifying, or enforcing child support under § 14-14-113 and § 26-13-126, C.R.S.; and 
locating an individual who is under an obligation to pay child support as required by § 26-13-107(3)(a)(I)(A), C.R.S. Failure to provide your social security number 
for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Disclosure of your social security number is voluntary for disclosure to other 
state regulatory agencies, testing and examination vendors, law enforcement agencies, and other private federations and associations involved in professional 
regulation for identification purposes only. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law. 
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ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF RESPONSIBILITY 
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR COMPANY 

 

 
To be completed by the Colorado-licensed Master Electrician responsible for the company. 

 
Colorado Electrical Contractor Company Name: 
 

Colorado Electrical Contractor Registration Number: 
(enter “pending” for a new company registration) 

Expiration Date: 

Master License Holder Name:  Last: 
 

First: Middle: Suffix: 

Social Security Number: * Date of Birth: 
(mm/dd/yyyy) 

Colorado Master Electrician License Number: Expiration Date: 

I declare that I am an (check one):  owner 
      —OR—  
      employee of the above-named Colorado Electrical Contractor company. 

 By checking this box, I affirm that I am actively engaged in a full time capacity, and I assume responsibility for all 
electrical work performed. I further agree that all work will be performed under my supervision, and will comply 
with all regulations of Title 12, Article 23, of the Colorado Revised Statutes and the National Electrical Code. 

I state under penalty of perjury in the second degree, as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503, that the information contained 
in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. In accordance with C.R.S. 18-8-501(2)(a)(I), 
false statements made herein are punishable by law and may constitute violation of the practice act. 

 

                
Master License Holder Signature       Date 

 
 
Statutory Authority: 
 
Colorado Revised Statute 12-23-106 (5)(d) No holder of a master's license shall be named as the master electrician, 
under the provisions of paragraphs (b) and (c) of this subsection (5), for more than one contractor, and a master named 
shall be actively engaged in a full-time capacity with that contracting company. The qualifying master license holder shall 
be required to notify the state electrical board within fifteen days after his termination as a qualifying master holder. The 
master license holder is responsible for all electrical work performed by the electrical contracting company. Failure to 
comply with a notification may lead to suspension or revocation of the master license as provided in section 12-23-118. 
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