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Colorado Extension applies to filing the information, not to payment 
 

Denver, CO, March 27, 2012 -- If you can’t file your 2011 Colorado individual income tax return by Tuesday, April 17, 
2012, you may take advantage of the state’s automatic six-month extension of time to file. There is no form, paper or 
electronic, to fill out to notify the Department of Revenue that you are taking the extension. 
 
There’s no extension for tax due 
The extension applies to filing Colorado income tax information, either on paper or electronically, not to any state 
income tax you may owe. If you expect to get a refund this year but do not make the April 17 filing deadline, you 
can still file your state income tax on or before Monday, Oct. 15, 2012.  
 
But, if you owe state income tax, 90 percent of the tax liability must be paid on or before April 17 to avoid penalties. 
Any remaining balance due would be subject to interest only.  
 
What are my payment options? 
 Pay Online. Visit Revenue Online, www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline Choose Individual. Look under 

AccessNow and choose Make a Payment. Through Revenue Online you can pay tax by credit card or echeck. 
The system will calculate the total tax owed, plus interest and penalty. The day you make the payment is noted 
in your account. No waiting for the department to process your check. 

OR 
 Mail in a check with the "2011 Extension Payment Voucher for Colorado Individual Income Tax" (DR 158-I). The 

Colorado 104 income tax booklet is located on the Colorado Taxation Web site at www.TaxColorado.com.  
 

To ensure your mailed payment is credited to your account, include your Social Security number(s) on the 
payment voucher. If you do not use the payment voucher, be sure to include your SSN(s) on the payment and 
indicate that the payment is for 2011 income tax. Otherwise, a nonfiler notice may be issued. 

 
How to determine penalty and interest charges on tax owed 
If you pay at least 90 percent of the tax owed by the April 17 deadline you will avoid penalty charges.  
 Those who pay less than the required 90 percent of the amount due on or before April 17 will be charged interest 

and penalty on the unpaid balance.  
 If the payment is 90 percent or more of the amount owed you will be charged interest only  -- no penalty as long 

as the return and balance owed are sent by the October 15 extension deadline. 
 
What are the penalty and interest rates? 

 Interest rate for 2011 is 6 percent on tax owed. A discounted rate of 3 percent is available if payment of tax, or 
agreement to pay, is made within 30 days of the April 17 deadline. 

 Penalty is 5 percent of the balance due for the first month past the April 17 deadline plus 0.5 percent for each 
additional month up to a maximum of 12 percent.  

 
 

(more) 

http://www.colorado.gov/RevenueOnline
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After tax season, use Revenue Online to monitor your tax account or make payments 
You can create your own Login ID and Password to access your tax account any time of year, similar to online 
banking. Visit the Revenue Online site, www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline, click the “Individual” button and select the 
“Sign Up” button to start the steps to access your account. Once you set up your Login ID and Password, you can use 
them to get into your account, view past year returns you’ve filed, get past year 1099-G amounts (refunds issued by 
the Department of Revenue), set up a payment plan if you owe income tax, amend your income tax returns online 
and upload documentation supporting any tax credits you are claiming. 
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