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Gun control is a much studied and debated topic. 

Proponents of gun control argue that the availability of

firearms is directly linked to gun deaths and injury,

especially in situations of domestic violence. 

Opponents counter that crime victims who defend

themselves with guns are less likely to be injured or

killed.  Additionally, many opponents of gun control

assert that gun possession is a civil right, guaranteed

by the United States Constitution.

Public support for restrictions on the sale and

possession of handguns has decreased from a high of

78 percent in the early 1990s to around 44 percent in

2009, according to Gallup's annual Crime Poll. 

Compromises have been made between a total ban on

firearms and complete freedom in gun sales and

ownership.   Federal and state laws impose

requirements on gun sellers, buyers, users, and

owners.  This issue brief discusses some of those

requirements as they relate to Colorado citizens.

Ineligibility to Possess a Firearm

Federal law prohibits the following individuals

from possessing, receiving, shipping, or transporting

firearms or ammunition:

• those convicted of (or under indictment for)

crimes punishable by a term of imprisonment

of more than one year, except state

misdemeanors punishable by two years or

less;

• fugitives from justice;

• United States citizens who have renounced

their citizenship;

• illegal aliens;

• unlawful users of certain controlled

substances;

• those adjudicated as mental defectives or

incompetents or those committed to any

mental institution;

• those dishonorably discharged from the armed

forces;

• any person subject to a court order restraining

that person from harassing, stalking, or

threatening an intimate partner; and

• those convicted in any court of a

misdemeanor or felony crime of domestic

violence.

Federal law prohibits the sale of all firearms and

ammunition to individuals under the age of 18.  The

sale of shotguns and rifles (and related ammunition) is

permitted to individuals who are at least 18 years old. 

Firearms dealers are prohibited from selling all other

types of firearms and ammunition to individuals under

the age of 21.

InstaCheck

The federal Brady Handgun Violence Prevention

Act of 1993 (Brady Act) requires federally licensed

firearms dealers to request a background check on

individuals who attempt buy or transfer a firearm. 

The Brady Act requires that dealers be able to receive

requested background information immediately. 

States handle this instant check process in a few

different ways. 
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National Instant Criminal Background Check

System (NICS).  The NICS is run by the Federal

Bureau of Investigation's (FBI) Justice Information

Services Division.  The NICS processes background

checks for firearms dealers by telephone or over the

Internet.  Ideally, it takes approximately 30 seconds

for a dealer to learn whether the transfer of a firearm

will violate state or federal law.  Twenty-nine states

currently use the NICS to conduct all background

checks for gun purchases and transfers.

Point-of-contact.  Thirteen states, including

Colorado, have agencies that act on behalf of the

NICS in a point-of-contact (POC) capacity.  The POC

states agree to implement and maintain their own

NICS programs and conduct background checks for

firearm transfers by electronically accessing the NICS. 

In Colorado, the POC is the Colorado Bureau of

Investigation's Instacheck Unit, which received a

General Fund appropriation of about $1.4 million in

FY 2008-09 and FY 2009-10.  The Instacheck Unit

was cash funded through a $10 fee paid by prospective

gun buyers from 1994 through 1999.

Partial POC.  Another eight states have a partial

POC arrangement with the FBI.  In those states, the

state agency performs NICS checks for handgun

purchases, while the FBI does all checks associated

with long gun (shotguns and rifles) purchases.

Concealed Carry Permits

Permit criteria.  Forty-six states, including

Colorado, require individuals who wish to carry a

concealed weapon to obtain a permit.   Colorado law1

requires sheriffs to issue a permit to any applicant who

meets all of the specified criteria.  The applicant must:

• be a legal resident of Colorado;

• be at least 21 years old;

• be eligible under state and federal laws to

possess a firearm;

• not have a conviction for perjury in relation to

information provided or deliberately omitted

on a permit application;

• not chronically or habitually use alcoholic

beverages to the extent that his or her normal

faculties are impaired;

• not be an unlawful user of or addicted to a

controlled substance;

• not be subject to a protection order; and

• demonstrate competence with a handgun.

Duties of the sheriff.  Sheriffs may deny, revoke,

or refuse to issue a new permit or renew an existing

permit if the sheriff has a reasonable belief that

documented previous behavior by the applicant makes

it likely the applicant will present a danger to him or

herself or others if he or she is issued a permit to carry

a concealed handgun.  Sheriffs may also suspend a

permit if the permittee no longer meets the specified

criteria or becomes a danger to him or herself or

others.

Permit renewal.  Colorado permits are valid for

five years and may be renewed any time within

120 days of the expiration date.  Permittees must

remain qualified with regard to the previously listed

criteria at all times.  Permits may not be renewed six

months or more past the expiration date.

Reciprocity.  Prior to 2007, any concealed carry

permit issued to an individual who was at least

21 years old by a state that recognizes the validity of

Colorado permits was considered valid in Colorado.  2

Senate Bill 07-034 clarified that an individual may use

a concealed carry permit issued in another state only

if that individual is currently a resident of the issuing

state or has lived in Colorado for no more than

90 days.

 Only Wisconsin and Illinois prohibit outright the carrying of
1

concealed weapons, although several states allow the issuing
authority broad discretion as to whether or not to grant a permit. 
Alaska and Vermont do not require a permit to carry a concealed
handgun.

 These states are Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware,
2

Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Dakota, New
Hampshire, North Carolina, New Mexico, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and
Wyoming.
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