
 
Cigarette and Tobacco Changes Effective 2009 

 
 
CIGARETTE SALES TAX EXEMPTION 
 
Effective July 1, 2009, retail sales of cigarettes are no longer exempt from Colorado state 
sales tax.   
 
FIRE SAFE CIGARETTES 
 
Effective July 31, 2009, all cigarettes sold in Colorado shall meet specified standards for 
reduced ignition propensity (fire-safe).  No cigarettes shall be sold or offered for sale in 
this state or offered for sale or sold to persons located in this state, after July 31, 2009, 
without a certification accepted by the Division of Fire Safety.  Cigarettes meeting the 
standards are marked as “FSC”, fire standards compliant. A manufacturer, wholesale 
dealer, agent, retail dealer or other person or entity who knowingly sells or offers to sell 
cigarettes in violation of this law shall be subject to civil penalty. 
 
UNSTAMPED (CONTRABAND) CIGARETTES 
 
Effective August 5, 2009, any package of cigarettes found at any place in this state 
without a stamp or imprint are declared to be contraband goods and may be seized.  A 
penalty of twenty-five cents ($.25) per cigarette will be imposed upon any unstamped 
cigarettes.  
 
UNTAXED TOBACCO PRODUCTS 
 
Effective August 5, 2009, anyone in possession of tobacco products not taxed by the distributor 
must pay the Colorado tobacco excise tax within 30 days of receiving the product. Payment can 
be made using form DR 0225. Failure to pay the tax within 30 days will result in 500% penalty 
plus tax and interest. (Tobacco products are also subject to sales or use taxes). This new law did 
NOT change the existing requirement that the first person or entity to bring any tobacco product 
into Colorado must be licensed as a tobacco distributor. 
 
RECORDS 
 
Effective August 5, 2009, every retailer who is not a licensed tobacco products dealer 
shall keep at its place of business complete and accurate records to show that all tobacco 
products received by the retailer were purchased from a licensed distributor. 
 
Please contact Jeanne Pletcher at (303)205-8211 ext.6848 or Tighe Jones at (303)205-
8211 ext.6863 with any questions. 


