
Sales Tax - Vending Machines 

Do I pay the $50 deposit fee for my vending machine business when I open an sales tax 
account? 

If you are opening any business that is required to remit Colorado state sales tax you must 
pay the $50 deposit fee when opening the sales tax account.   However, under Colorado 
Revised Statute 39-26-103 (B)(c) "a person who sells only products which are subject to 
city or county, but no state sales tax may petition the department to waive the deposit 
established . . ." 

 


