
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

APPLICATION

for

"COMMODITY HANDLER" LICENSE

(303) 477-0054

ALL COMMODITY HANDLERS ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT A FINANCIAL STATEMENT, AND HAVE SUFFICIENT SURETY BOND ON 

FILE, BEFORE A LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED. (See information on back regarding the financial statement requirements.)

03/01/2008 - 02/28/2009

Individual/Sole Proprietorship*                 Partnership                  Corporation

Make Check Payable to: Colorado Dept. of Agriculture

Mail Payment to: Cashier - Colorado Dept. of Agriculture/ICS

700 Kipling Street, Ste. 4000

Lakewood, CO 80215-8000

(453) LICENSE FEE

(453) ADDITIONAL LOCATION FEE

LOCATIONS __________ X $100.00

TOTAL LICENSE FEES DUE

$ 100.00 

(Print name of the legal entity)

LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT:

DATED: BY:

Yes:__  No:__

(457) COMMODITY INSPECTION FEE

(458) WAREHOUSE INSPECTION FEE

SEE FEE SCHEDULE ON BACK OF APPLICATION TO DETERMINE 

INSPECTION FEE(S)

Commodity inspection fee is determind by your annual purchase volume of 

commodities from Colorado owners or producers.

NOTE: FOR AGRICULTURE USE ONLY

I understand that as a commodity handler, I must comply with all requirements of the Commodity Handler Act (Title 12, Article 16, 

Sections 201 et. seq. C.R.S.) I understand that making false statements on this application is punishable by law. I certify that all 

the statements made in this application are true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief, and are made in 

good faith.

$ _______

AREA:

AMOUNT OF BOND REQUIRED:

DATE APPROVED: BY: 

1. LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT:

2, OPERATING NAME OF APPLICANT:

3. PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS:

4. MAILING ADDRESS:

5. PHONE NUMBER:

(Print name under which you do business, if different from legal name)

 Street Address                                                              City                                      State             Zip Code

 Street Address                                                              City                                      State             Zip Code

6. EMAIL ADDRESS:

7. This business is operating as a(n):

Other 

(Describe)

*If you are operating as a proprietorship, you must complete the "Citizenship/Immigration Status Verification Form"

HB 1023 requires the Colorado Department of Agriculture to verify an individual's lawful presence in the United States prior to 

providing a Commodity Handler license.  Licenses issued to a partnership, corporation or any other ownership structures other 

than a sole proprietorship, will not be affected. See the bottom of page two for more information.

8. State the kind(s) of commodities handled:

9. State your annual volume of commodity purchases from Colorado producers and dealers.
$ __________

11. Do you operate multiple locations under the same Commodity Handler license?

If yes, please attach a list of all locations and include additional $100 fee for each location.

12. Are you engaged in the business of BUYING "farm products" other than commodities?

FARM PRODUCTS (HAY, LIVESTOCK, PRODUCE, ETC.) DEALER (No additional license fee)

Yes:__  No:__

If YES, state your annual volume of "farm product" purchases from Colorado producers or owners.
$ __________

13. Do you operate a public warehouse in Colorado? If yes, see back of form for additional requirements.
Yes:__  No:__

14. Do you have an agent representing your firm in Colorado?
Yes:__  No:__

List all agents acting on your behalf on a separate sheet and attach to application.

15. List person(s) authorized to receive and accept service of summons and legal notices of all kinds for the applicant in 

the State of Colorado. (Name and complete address)

Name Complete Address

10. Do you issue credit sale contracts?     If yes, see back of form for additional requirements.

(461) LATE PENALTY (after March 1st) $50  N/A 

_______

Yes:__  No:__



DO NOT DESTROY

COMMODITY HANDLER APPLICATION

FINANCIAL STATEMENT REQUIREMENT (12-16-206 CRS)

Commodity Handlers are required to submint a fincancial statement as a condition of obtaining a license. Financial statements submitted to the 

Commissioner in support of a license application shall be confidential. To maintain confidentiality, send your financial statement separately from your 

license application to Steve Bornmann, Colorado Department of Agriculture, 2331 W. 31st Ave., Denver, CO 80211.

CREDIT SALE CONTRACTS (12-16-208 CRS)

Submit a list of all your open credit sale contracts, including the dollar value of each contract and the payment date. This list may be submitted with 

your financial statement.

SURETY BOND OR IRREVOCABLE LETTER OF CREDIT (12-16-218 CRS)

A surety bond or letter of credit sufficient to meet the requirements in the Commissioner's bond schedule.

BOND SCHEDULE

COMMODITY HANDLERS

2% of annual Colorado commodity purchases.  Minimum bond of $10,000, maximum bond of $1,000,000.

PUBLIC WAREHOUSES

The higher bond amount, determined by either of the two following computations will be required:

1.) 2% of annual Colorado commodity purchases.  Minimum bond of $10,000, maximum bond of $1,000,000. or;

2.) $.10/bu. for grain storage capacity and/or $.50/cwt. of bean storage capacity.  Minimum bond of $25,000, maximum bond of $1,000,000.

 

Additional bond may be required, if a public warehouse's net worth falls below $.25/bu. of grain storage capacity and/or $1.25/cwt. bean storage 

capacity.

INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULES (12-16-217 CRS)

COMMODITY HANDLER FEE

(ANNUAL PURCHASE VOLUME OF COMMODITIES FROM COLORADO OWNERS OR PRODUCERS)

DOLLAR VOLUME   INSPECTION FEE

 $1.00 TO $249,999.00     $ 50.00

 $250,000.00 TO $999,999.00     $150.00

$1,000,000.00 TO $2,999,999.00      $250.00

$3,000,000.00 TO $4,999,999.00      $350.00

$5,000,000.00 TO $14,999,999.00    $550.00

$15,000,000.00 OR MORE     $750.00

ADDITIONAL FEE ASSESSED FOR COLORADO LICENSED PUBLIC WAREHOUSE INSPECTIONS

CAPACITY IN BUSHELS INSPECTION FEE

                   1  TO        150,000 $   155.00

        150,001  TO        250,000 $   310.00

        250,001  TO        500,000 $   455.00

        500,001  TO        750,000 $   615.00

        750,001  TO         1,000,000 $   765.00

     1,000,001  TO         1,200,000 $   920.00

     1,200,001  TO         1,500,000 $1,070.00

     1,500,001  TO         2,000,000 $1,220.00

     2,000,001  TO         2,500,000 $1,375.00

     2,500,001  TO         5,000,000 $1,525.00

     5,000,001  TO         7,500,000 $1,685.00

     7,500,001  TO       10,000,000 $1,840.00

PUBLIC WAREHOUSE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Additional license requirements for Commodity Handlers storing commodities for the public.

Do you operate a public warehouse in Colorado with a valid license issued under the provisions of the 

"United States Warehouse Act" Sec. 241?                                                                                                                             Yes:__  No:__

    If yes, submit a copy of your USWA license.

    If no, submit the following required information.

    EVIDENCE OF INSURANCE COVERAGE (12-16-206 CRS)

    Submit evidence of sufficient provisional insurance coverage to protect commodities stored in your warehouse.

    TARIFF (12-16-205 CRS)

    Submit the schedule of charges to be made for the handling, storage and shipment of commodities for the license year.

Farm Products Program

Colorado Department of Agriculture

700 Kipling St., Ste. 4000

Lakewood, CO 80215-8000

231403000


