
REGULATIONS ON LIVESTOCK INSPECTION 

1. An inspection is required every time an animal is sold or purchased  
(horses, cattle, mules and donkeys) or when any change of ownership  
occurs, regardless of whether or not the animal is transported after or 
prior to the sale. (C.R.S. 35-53-105, 35-53-112) 

2. An inspection is required when livestock is to be transported over 
75 miles totally within the boundaries of Colorado (some exceptions). 
(C.R.S. 35-53-105, 35-53-112) 

3. An inspection is required every time livestock leave the state 
regardless of circumstances. (C.R.S. 35-53-105, 35-53-112) 

4. Items 2 and 3 may be accomplished by the owner obtaining a 
"PERMANENT TRAVEL CARD" (for horses only). Simply contact your 
local inspector. (C.R.S. 35-53-129) 

5. Any time livestock is to be transported on a public road, proof of 
ownership of the stock being transported must be available for 
inspection by the Colorado State Patrol, local law enforcement or a 
livestock inspector. If the animal carries your Colorado brand, this can 
be your proof of ownership. Failure to show proof of title is a 
misdemeanor! (C.R.S. 35-53-117) 

6. Animals being transported by a commercial hauler must have a "Bill 
of Lading" showing point of origin, destination, number of head, color, 
sex, the hot iron brands and signed by the owner or agent of the stock 
even if an inspection is not required. (C.R.S. 35-53-117) 

7. Animals being transported by anyone other than the legal owner 
should have a letter or note from the owner authorizing that transport 
in conjunction with the inspection certificate (if required). 

8. Any livestock crossing a state line must be accompanied by a 
current health certificate. Contact your local veterinarian or the state 
veterinarian's office (303-239-4161) for specific information. 

9. Failure to comply with Colorado Livestock Law is at least a Class I 
misdemeanor and may be a felony. $250.00 minimum fine and/or up 
to 90 days jail time for the first offense. (C.R.S. 35-53-112) 

The following items are a highlighted overview of the requirements to 
purchase, sell or transport livestock within Colorado or from the state. 
Also included are a few pointers when purchasing livestock in other 
states which will be transported into Colorado. 



Employees of the State Board of Stock Inspection are charged with the 
protection of the Colorado livestock industry. We must certify that the 
shipper or seller is the legal owner prior to issuing a certificate. All lost, 
missing, strayed and stolen livestock fall under the jurisdiction and 
control of the State Board of Livestock Inspection. 

Items to remember... 

1. Be sure to give your Inspector at least 2-3 days notice prior to when 
inspection is needed. 

2. Inspection is required for sale or movement even if the previous 
parties did not comply the last time the animal was sold or 
transported. 

3. Inspection is required regardless of whether or not the animal is 
branded or not branded. 

4. Inspection is required on all classes of stock (horses, cattle, mules 
or donkeys). Registration papers or the lack of registry does not 
exempt inspection. 

5. The definition of a brand for the purposes of this brochure is a 
permanent mark on the hide of an animal registered with any state as 
a livestock brand. (Tattoos are not brands) 

6. Inspection is required at the point of origin unless released by the 
local inspector. SELLER OR LEGAL AGENT MUST BE PRESENT AT THE 
INSPECTION. 

 


