
Private Pesticide Applicators – Questions and Answers Regarding 
Moving the Program from EPA to the Colorado Department of 

Agriculture 
 
In June 2006, you should have received a letter informing all private applicators in the State of 
Colorado of the recent change to the Pesticide Applicators’ Act, which gave the Colorado 
Department of Agriculture (CDA) authority to administer the private pesticide applicator 
program.  The CDA has received several inquiries and concerns from private applicators 
questioning the change in program authority.  The CDA has developed the following fact sheet 
to answer many of the common questions we are receiving in an attempt to clarify how this 
change came about. 
 

1) Why did the Colorado Department of Agriculture take this program over from the 
Environmental Protection Agency?  

 
Pesticides are regulated under Federal law by the Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) under the authority provided by the Federal Insecticide Fungicide and Rodenticide 
Act (FIFRA).  FIFRA provides the authority for EPA to delegate the requirements for 
pesticide applicator certification and enforcement of use to the States.  For many reasons 
both fiscal and managerial, EPA would rather the States carry out this program and EPA 
provide some grant funding to assist the States to carry out the requirements. 
 
In 1985, Colorado accepted delegation of the authority for commercial pesticide 
applicators.  Many times since then the EPA has asked Colorado to take over the private 
pesticide applicator program as well.  Currently 48 out of 50 states conduct both the 
private and commercial pesticide applicator programs and have for over a decade. 
 
Until a few years ago there was no support from industry to have the State carry out the 
private pesticide applicator program.  Thus when EPA asked, the CDA always declined 
to ask the legislature for authority to conduct this program.   
 
Unfortunately, EPA Region VIII, for the years it has administered the program, was 
unable to provide a large amount of guidance to the regulated industry on what it must do 
to comply with the Federal regulations, resulting in some applicators and growers being 
out of compliance.  When inspections were conducted and violations found, EPA then 
took what the State of Colorado felt was an inflexible enforcement approach vs. 
compliance assistance.  In one case EPA issued a civil penalty to a grower in excess of 
$200,000, in several other cases they issued penalties that ranged from $5,000 to $25,000.  
These fines were issued for what the industry felt were minor administrative and record 
keeping violations that did not warrant such large fines. 
 
These actions, coupled with the minimal amount of compliance assistance and education 
offered by EPA for private pesticide applicators, resulted in a change in the agricultural 
industry's mindset.  It was for these reasons and with overwhelming support from 
agricultural organizations that the State determined it was in the best interest of Colorado 
agriculture for the State to begin administering the private pesticide applicator program.   



 
2) Was the agricultural industry involved in this decision? 

 
The Colorado agricultural industry, through many associations as well as individuals, was 
extensively involved during the legislative process to obtain the statutory authority for 
private applicator certification and pesticide use enforcement.  Without their support this 
change would not have been possible.  They and the legislature understood the need for 
the change in who was running this important program.  They also understood that this 
change would affect thousands of growers and applicators throughout the State of 
Colorado, yet they fully supported the delegation of the program from EPA to CDA. 
 

3) Why will there be a fee associated with my license now and what will the fee be used 
for? 

 
The EPA was statutorily prohibited from charging a fee for any part of the pesticide 
applicator certification program.  Therefore the program was free to private applicators.  
EPA operated the program with federal funding appropriated by Congress.  The funding 
provided minimal capability for issuing licenses and conducting a few inspections.  EPA 
provided little in the way of meaningful education or compliance assistance.  Therefore, 
when farms were inspected, they typically had violations.  EPA will pass through to the 
CDA the federal funds they were receiving for the program - however, this amount is not 
sufficient to run the program effectively.  Therefore CDA must use other revenue sources 
to run the program.   
 
A number of factors were considered in determining the license fee.  First CDA took into 
account that there will be a drop in the number of licensed private applicators in a fee 
based licensure program from the private applicator community, no matter what the fee 
is.  CDA is expecting 50% of private applicators to opt to let their current certification 
expire and no longer use restricted use pesticides (RUPs).  Many of these individuals 
haven't and don't plan to use RUPs anyway.  CDA did identify pesticide registration fees 
(fees charged for chemical companies to sell their products in the State of Colorado) that 
it will use to help supplement the program.  However, even with the federal funding and 
the registration fees, it still left CDA with no choice but to charge for the service of 
issuing private applicator licenses to cover all expenses and services this program will 
generate, including: private applicator certification, compliance assistance outreach (vs. 
taking only enforcement actions when violations are found), pesticide misuse 
investigations, worker protection standards inspections, continuing education, and, in the 
future, private applicator record inspections.   
 
There is a valid argument to be made that general tax dollars should be used in this 
program because there is an overall public good that results from weed and pest control.  
However, with the State of Colorado’s current budget situation, obtaining general tax 
dollars is not feasible. 
 



It should be noted that other states do use a combination of licensure fees, registration 
fees, and general fund dollars to support their programs as well.  Colorado was one of the 
last states where the license was free.  

 
4) Is my license still valid after January 1, 2007?  

 
Yes, if your EPA private applicator license does not expire before  January 1, 2007, it is 
still valid until the expiration date printed on the license.  When your license does expire, 
anytime after January 1, 2007, you will need to contact the CDA to obtain a new private 
applicator certification.  

 
5) Can I use a Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP) product that I purchased with my 

private applicator license if my license has expired?  
 
It is a violation to use RUPs if you do not have a valid private pesticide applicator 
license.  Should an individual do this and the CDA verify and prove that a private 
applicator continued to use RUPs after the expiration of their private applicator license, 
the private applicator could face penalties of up to $1,000 per violation for use of that 
product. 

 
Some concerns were expressed about the control of noxious weeds for individuals who choose to 
let their private pesticide applicator license expire or don't meet the qualifications for a license.  
The CDA provides fact sheets with control options that list herbicides, both restricted use and 
general use pesticides, for managing List A noxious weed species present in Colorado and for 
some List B species for which we have developed statewide noxious weed management plans.  
Fact sheets for these species (which includes management recommendations) can be found at 
http://www.ag.state.co.us/CSD/Weeds/Brochures/FactSheets.html.  The management 
recommendations for each species are provided by Colorado State University scientists based 
upon their research as well as that of other weed scientists around the West. 
 
If you have additional questions please contact the Department at (303) 239-4178 or address you 
questions in writing to:  
 

John Scott 
Colorado Department of Agriculture 

Pesticide Applicator Coordinator 
700 Kipling St., Suite 4000 

Lakewood, CO 80215 
John.scott@ag.state.co.us 

 


