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REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES FOR A RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDE 
DEALER LICENSE: 
 

 Any person who distributes to any other person any federal or state restricted use 
pesticide must possess a valid Pesticide Dealer License.  Each business location, 
including branch offices, and each business name must be licensed. 

 
 Any herbicide product that contains one or more of these active ingredients is a 

Colorado State Restricted Use Pesticide Product: 
 

Bromacil Diuron 
Monuron Prometon 
Sodium Chlorate Sodium Metaborate 
Tebuthiuron  

 
 For purposes of issuing a pesticide dealer license: “person” means any individual, 

corporation, government or governmental subdivision or agency, business trust, estate, 
trust, limited liability company, partnership, association, or other legal entity.  

 
 To obtain a license, submit the following Application for Pesticide Dealer License with 

an application fee of $50.00 to the Colorado Department of Agriculture at the above 
address. Checks should be made payable to the Colorado Department of 
Agriculture. 

 
 If there are any changes to the mailing address or business address listed on your 

license, you must notify us in writing within 15 days of the change. Send your letter to 
the address listed above. 

 
 Applications for renewal postmarked after the first working day of January are subject 

to a 10% ($5.00) penalty fee. If the renewal is not received on or before February 1, the 
license will be revoked and the dealer must apply for a new license.   

 
The obligations for licensed pesticide dealers are specified in the Pesticide Act and Associated 
Rules.  Copies can be obtained at www.colorado.gov/ag/dpi.

To obtain a hard-copy of the Pesticide Act and Associated rules, or if you have any questions 
please call 303-239-4181 or send an email to : Barbara.Bliss@ag.state.co.us 
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RECORD-KEEPING REQUIREMENTS FOR STATE AND FEDERAL RUPS:   
 

1. Records must be kept for distribution of federal or state RUPs to any person. 
2. Records must be kept for two years. 
3. The following items must be recorded for each transaction: 

a. Name and address of customer 
b. Either: 

• customer’s pesticide certification number, the issuing state, 
expiration date and appropriate licensure categories or,  

• if sold to another dealer, the pesticide dealer license number 
c. Pesticide product name 
d. Pesticide EPA registration number  

• (and/or 24(c) number, if applicable) 
e. Quantity of pesticide 
f. Date of transaction 

 
DEALER RESPONSIBILITIES FOR PESTICIDES TO BE USED UNDER A 
SECTION 18 EMERGENCY EXEMPTION: 
 
For most section 18 emergency exemptions, any dealer who sells pesticides to an end-user 
for a use allowed under a section 18 emergency exemption also must be licensed by CDA 
as a Colorado Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer.  Dealer requirements for sales of pesticides 
to an applicator for a section 18 use include the following: 
 

• Dealer must make sure the customer has both a commercial/private applicator 
license and the appropriate section 18 permit from CDA prior to purchase. 

• Dealer must record the same information as specified above for RUPs. 

• Dealer must record both the section 18 permit number and the applicator’s 
license number. 

• Dealer must provide the section 18 use directions provided by the distributor to 
the end-user. 
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APPLICATION FOR PESTICIDE DEALER LICENSE 
 
INSTRUCTIONS:  Please type or print legibly, in black or blue ink. Complete this form in its entirety.  Return this 
form and $50.00 license fee payable to the Colorado Department of Agriculture.   
 
PERSON/ENTITY DESIRING LICENSE: (Sole proprietorships please enter your name.  Applicants other than sole 
proprietorships please enter the entity name). 
 
             
      
DOING BUSINESS AS NAME(s) (DBA):  (If no “doing business as” name is provided, the business name will be 
assumed to be the same as the person’s name.  The licensee can only do business under the listed DBA name(s).) 
 
              
 
MAILING ADDRESS:  (Address, city, state and zip) 

              

              

  
BUSINESS ADDRESS:  (Business address must be a physical location, not a PO Box, including city, state and zip.) 

              

              

 
ADDITIONAL BUSINESS INFORMATION: 
 
Name of Primary Contact:            

Title of Primary Contact:              

Business Phone:  (  )        

Fax:  (  )        

Email Address:                              

Website:                            

 
 
 
              
Signature of Authorized Representative     Date 
 
 
              
Printed Name of Authorized Representative     Title 



 
 
 
 
Each of the following questions must be answered in full by the person or entity applying for the license.  Attach a 
separate piece of paper, if necessary.  Be sure to include the question number for each answer on the separate sheet. 
 

1. Have you filed a previous application for license as a pesticide dealer in 
Colorado? 
 

   ⁭ No    ⁭Yes 

2. Have you ever been licensed as a pesticide dealer in any other state(s)?  If 
YES, then list state name(s) below. 
 ___________________________________________________ 
 

   ⁭ No    ⁭Yes 

3. Has any action ever been taken against you regarding the distribution of any 
pesticide?  Include any actions by any state, the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency, or other U.S. federal government entity.  (Actions include 
but are not limited to civil fines, suspension, revocation, or probation of any 
license to distribute pesticides, letter of admonition, or other formal censure.)  
If YES, attach an explanation including the state or government agency, date, 
charge and disposition. 
 

   ⁭ No    ⁭Yes 

4. Have you ever been denied a license, or permission to distribute pesticides in 
any state, country, or U.S. federal jurisdiction?  If YES, attach an explanation 
including state or government agency, date, and reason for denial. 

   ⁭ No    ⁭Yes 

5. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to distribute pesticides in any 
state?  If YES, attach an explanation. 
 

   ⁭ No    ⁭Yes 

6. Have you ever been convicted of any felony related to the sale of any 
pesticide in any state, territory, district, the U.S., or foreign country?  If YES, 
attach an explanation. 
 

   ⁭ No    ⁭Yes 

7. Have you ever entered into any legal settlement or had a judgment entered 
against you related to the sale of a restricted use pesticide in a court of law?  
If YES, attach an explanation. 
 

   ⁭ No    ⁭Yes 

 
The undersigned states that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge.  I understand that, under the Pesticide Act, providing false information is grounds for denial, suspension, 
or revocation of a dealer license. 
 
 
 
 
              
Signature of Authorized Representative     Date 
 
 
 
                   
Printed Name of Authorized Representative     Title 
 
 
 

Approval 
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