FAQ

A.

The Pet Animal Care Facilities Program is a model program for states across the country and is dedicated to protecting the health and well-being of those animals in pet care facilities. PACFA is committed to making sure that pet care facilities meet, or exceed, minimum standards for physical facilities; sanitation; ventilation; lighting; heating; cooling; humidity; spatial and enclosure requirements; nutrition; humane care; medical treatment; methods of operation and record keeping.

PACFA gives the Colorado Department of Agriculture the statutory authority to license and inspect all pet animal care facilities. Any person who is operating a pet animal facility that engages in selling, transferring, adopting, breeding, boarding, training, grooming, sheltering or rescuing any pet animal may need to be licensed with the Colorado Department of Agriculture.

A.

The PACFA program is a risk-based inspection program. Each new facility receives a risk assessment rating of low, medium, or medium-high based on the type of business being conducted. Inspections are conducted every 24 months, every 18 months, every 12 months, or every 6 months according to the risk classification. The goal of the inspection is to cite violations that don't meet PACFA standards and to set a date for correction that will bring the facility into compliance.

A.

To obtain a license for your facility complete and return the PACFA License Application with the required fee and all required documentation. If you are a sole proprietor, then you will be required to fill out the Citizenship/Immigration Status Verification Form found in the Application. An inspector will contact you to inspect your facility. The inspector will issue your license when you pass the initial inspection. License renewal is due March 1 of each year. Significant changes to your business may require license update during the year.

A.

People are encouraged to contact the PACFA office if they would like to file an inquiry into a facility. They may either call Lisa Gibson at (303) 239-4167 or email Lisa Gibson at Lisa.Gibson@state.co.us.

Complainants must provide a detailed description of the issue, which includes the species of the animal(s), location, name of facility, etc. If complainants wish to know the outcome of the inquiry they will need to provide their name and contact information. A PACFA inspector will investigate the inquiry to determine if there is a violation of the PACFA statute or PACFA rules and regulations. Inspectors cannot comment on the inquiry until the investigation is complete.

A.

PACFA has a number of tools they use to gain compliance including inspections, civil fines, and license suspension, denial and revocation.

A.

A follow-up inspection will occur but the date of that inspection will not be released because unannounced inspections are an important tool for the pet care program.

Within PACFA's rules and regulations, a facility that fails three consecutive inspections for an original violation may have action taken against its license.

A.

The Colorado Department of Agriculture can shut down a facility if it is not able to meet the standards set forth in the Pet Animal Care Facility Act (PACFA). However, there is a process involved and the goal of PACFA is not to shut down a facility, but instead, PACFA's goal is to educate those facilities and bring them into compliance.