Tracks in Time
The award-winning, permanent exhibit details the history of the Estes Park area from the Ice Age to today. Visitors of all ages are challenged in activities throughout the Main Gallery such as identifying animals living in the Rocky Mountains in Call of the Wild and returning magnetic cattle to their ranches in Pursuing the Wealth of Land.
In Roads to Paradise visitors can examine a real 1909 model EX Stanley Steamer Runabout. Also permanent features, radio evacuation announcements of the 1982 Lawn Lake Flood and chilling film footage from the 1976 Thompson Canyon Flood aftermath are found in Changes by Nature.
In the center of the Main Gallery, Stories Under the Stars is an inviting space for visitors of all ages to sit beside a glowing fire and listen to recorded stories from Estes Park pioneers. Then, enjoy viewing a vintage film in the Park Theatre. The film, which runs on a loop, was compiled by Steven Smersh highlighting some of the best amusements Estes Park had to offer in 1962. The film includes a high school football game when the Bobcats athletic field was located downtown behind what is presently Town Hall. Viewers will take pleasure in the footage of downhill skiers at Hidden Valley and water skiers in Lake Estes. Watch carefully and see the downtown streetscape in 1962 as the high school marching band makes its way across Elkhorn Avenue.
The actual Park Theatre located on Moraine Avenue, celebrated its centennial year in 2013. To recognize this historic landmark, Sharon Seeley, owner of the 100 –year –old Park Theatre, gifted seats from the Theatre for installation in the Museums’ exhibit.
Step outside of the main building to explore two historical structures: the 1908 Cobb-Macdonald cabin and the National Park Service Headquarters Building. The cabin is typical of a turn-of-the-twentieth-century rustic home and displays modest furniture and decorations. The National Park Service Headquarters Building served as the center of affairs for Rocky Mountain National Park when it was downtown from 1915 to 1923. Today, the building hosts temporary exhibits.
Questions? Contact us.