Labor Day Crackdown on Impaired Driving Begins August 16

NEWS FROM THE COLORADO STATE PATROL

Contact: CSP Public Information Officer – (303) 239-4583


Impaired Driving Crackdown Begins Tomorrow


DENVER, CO (August 15, 2013) -- The Colorado State Patrol and law enforcement agencies across the state will be increasing their presence on the roads to keep Coloradans safe from impaired drivers beginning August 16 through September 3 as part of the Labor Day Holiday DUI enforcement efforts.

Last year, more than 1,400 Colorado residents were arrested for impaired driving and 13 people died in alcohol-related motor vehicle crashes during the Labor Day crackdown.

 

“Law enforcement officers from across the state will be on heightened alert this holiday weekend to encourage drivers to make smart driving choices and plan ahead for a sober ride,” said Colonel Scott Hernandez, Chief of the Colorado State Patrol.  “Law enforcement is aware that high-visibility enforcement reduces impaired driving fatalities by as much as 20 percent.  It’s a very simple safe driving message, ‘Don’t Drink and Drive.’  Be a sober driver or have a designated driver and always remember to buckle up.”  

The Labor Day impaired driving crackdown concludes a summer-long campaign, which included sobriety checkpoints, saturation patrols and increased DUI enforcement across the state. The statewide enforcement coincides with the 18-day national enforcement campaign, “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.”

 

The Heat Is On campaign runs throughout the year with 12 specific DUI enforcement periods focused on national holidays and other events like Halloween and Super Bowl weekends.