Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

Restraint Actions

Revoke Drove Under Insurance Suspension

 

This revocation is taken when you are under an insurance suspension and you are convicted of a moving violation or are in an accident. The revocation is ordered for one year from the conviction date if caused by a violation, or one year from the accident date.

Reinstatement requirements $95 and SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement.

 

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written, and drive test.

 

Point Suspension

If you accumulate too many points from convictions on tickets within a certain period of time, you will lose your driver's license through a point suspension.

You will be notified of a hearing date which will determine the length of the restraint.  A suspension can be ordered for up to one year and a probationary license may or may not be authorized at the hearing. 

 

The following are point accumulations that result in suspension:

Adult Driver (21 and older)

12 points in any 12 consecutive months

18 points in any 24 consecutive months

Minor Driver (18 thru 20 years of age)

9 points in any 12 consecutive months

12 points in any 24 consecutive months

14 or more points between the ages of 18-21

Under the Age of 18

6 points in 12 consecutive months

7 points prior to turning 18

Colorado does not have what is commonly referred to as a chauffeur license however, if a driver proves at a hearing that they are employed as a driver and received all of their tickets in the course of their employment , they are not subject to suspension until they receive 16 points in 12 months, 24 points in 24 months or 28 points in 4 years. 

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement ( DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • Evidence of Insurance showing that you are insured.

    

After reinstatement no testing will be required to get a duplicate license, if license is still valid, but when you  renew your license you will need to take the written test.

 

NOTE:  If this is the only restraint action against your driving privilege you may reinstate by mail or in a full service driver's license office  that offers this service.

 

 

MANDATORY REVOCATIONS (CRS §42-2-125)

*Vehicular homicide or assault while driving a motor vehicle

*Driving under the influence of a controlled substance

*Motor vehicle used to commit a felony

*Failure to stop and render aid

*Perjury or false affidavit or statement under oath to the department relating to ownership or operation of a motor vehicle

 *Underage buy/possession of alcohol

*Convicted or deferred sentence for motor vehicle theft or trespass or criminal mischief causing damage to a motor vehicle

*Defacing property

 

*based on court conviction

 

ALCOHOL OR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE PROBLEMS

 

UNDER 21 DRIVER

 

One Conviction for alcohol/drug use while driving

 

Stopped with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .02 < .08

 

Stopped with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .02 < .05

 

Convicted of DUI or DWAI

 

Felony and Non-Felony Drug conviction

 

Driving Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance

 

Underage buy/possession of alcohol

 

ADULT

 

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC).08 or more

 

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC).08 2nd stop

 

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) .08 3rd or subsequent stop

 

Refusal to take BAC test

 

Second Refusal to take BAC test

 

Third or More Refusal to take BAC test

 

Felony and Non-Felony Drug conviction

 

Two Alcohol Convictions

 

Three Alcohol Convictions

 

 

 

INSURANCE PROBLEMS

 

Conviction in court of No Liability Insurance ticket. Did not carry any insurance.

 

Canceled SR22 insurance prior to end of the requirement

 

Received a ticket or was involved in an accident when under an insurance restraint.

 

Given an Affidavit and Notice of Suspension by an officer at a traffic stop

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vehicular Homicide or Vehicular Assault.

 

DEFINITION:

 

The restraint action is caused by a conviction in court for vehicular homicide, criminally negligent homicide or vehicular assault while driving a motor vehicle.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Hearing to determine if eligible to reinstate
  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 3 years from the date of reinstatement

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Driving Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance

 

DEFINITION:

The restraint action is cause by a conviction in court for driving under the influence of certain controlled substances or while a habitual user of such a controlled substance.  The revocation is ordered for one year.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 3 years from the date of reinstatement

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Motor Vehicle Used To Commit a Felony

 

DEFINITION:

The restraint action is taken when a driver is convicted in court of any felony in which a motor vehicle was used.  (Most common driving while revoked as a Habitual Traffic Offender)  The revocation is ordered for one year.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Hearing to determine if eligible to reinstate
  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 3 years from the date of reinstatement

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Failure to Stop and Render Aid :

 

DEFINITION:

The restraint action is taken when a driver is convicted in court of failing to stop and render aid due to a motor vehicle accident resulting in death or injury. 

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Hearing to determine if eligible to reinstate.
  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 3 years from the date of reinstatement

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Perjury of false affidavit or statement

 

DEFINITION: 

This revocation is taken if a person is convicted of perjury in the first or second degree or the making of a false affidavit or statement under oath to the Department under any law relating to the ownership or operation of a motor vehicle.  The revocation is ordered for a period of one year.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS: 

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 3 years from the date of reinstatement

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Underage buy/possession of alcohol

 

DEFINITION:

This restraint is taken when a person under the age of 21 is convicted of a non-driving related alcohol offense such as buy, possess or under age consumption

1st conviction - 3 month restraint

2nd conviction -  6 month restraint

3 or more convictions - one year restraint

CHANGE IN STATUTE EFFECTIVE 8-5-09;

If your conviction date is 8-5-09 or after, a revocation will no longer be taken except under certain conditions.  House Bill 09-1266 amended the conditions for a revocation to be taken on a first time buy, possess or under age comsumption.  A revocation will be taken if the department receives a non-compliance from the court for failing to complete a court ordered treatment program/evaluation on a 1st conviction.  The revocation will be for 3 months.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Motor vehicle theft, trespass, or criminal mischief causing damage to a motor vehicle

 

DEFINITION:

This restraint is taken when the department receives a conviction from the court that an adult or minor driver is convicted of:

1) 2nd degree criminal trespass involving a motor vehicle (conviction/deferred) or

2) Aggravated motor vehicle theft (convicted/deferred) or

3) Criminal mischief involving damage to a motor vehicle. 

Revocation is effective for one year.  Hearing may be requested.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 insurance for 3 years
  • Satisfaction of court ordered restitution or proof from the court that no such restitution has been ordered.  (Must be a court document)

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

Defacing Public/Private Property/Caves

 

DEFINITION:

This restraint is taken when the department receives a conviction from the court that person is convicted of defacing public or private property including caves  This restraint is for 6 months.

CHANGE IN STATUTE EFFECTIVE 8-5-09;

If your conviction date is 8-5-09 or after, a revocation will no longer be taken.  House Bill 09-1266 repealed the revocation.

 

REINSTATMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Under 21 driver any one conviction for alcohol/drug use while driving

 

DEFINITION:

This revocation is taken when a driver under the age of 21 is convicted of an alcohol related driving offense, either DUI or DWAI.  The revocation is for 1 year.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for one year unless involved in an accident - then three years required
  • Level 1 alcohol education course

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Revoke Per Se .08 - 1st time

 

DEFINITION:

Person is stopped by an officer and test is given to determine if the person was "drinking and driving".  The person has 7 days to request a hearing.  Three month revocation.  After 30 days may be eligible for a Probationary Driver's License.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three months from date of reinstatement if there are no other alcohol convictions or revocations and no accident was involved, SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement if there was a prior alcohol violation or if there was an accident.  A refusal is considered a prior alcohol violation.
  • Certificate (DR2598) form completed unless the Blood Alcohol Content was .17 or more.  At .17 BAC or more a Level II alcohol education and therapy course is required and an Ignition Interlock Device (if offense is after Jan. 1, 2007).

 

TESTING:

A new license may be issued without testing. 

 

 

Under 21 Alcohol Stop with BAC .02 but less than .08

 

DEFINITION:

Persons under 21 if found operating a motor vehicle with an alcohol content of blood or breath shown to be .02 but less than .08 will be revoked.

1st - 3 months

2nd - 6 months

3 or more - 1 year

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

1st

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • Evidence of insurance
  • Certificate (DR2598 ) completed form

 

TESTING 1st time:

A new license may be obtained without testing.

 

2nd and 3rd

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 6 months (2nd) or 1 year (3rd)from the date of reinstatement
  • Certificate (DR2598 ) completed form

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test

 

Under 21 Per Se Alcohol Stop with BAC .02  but less than  .05

 

DEFINITION:

Persons under 21 is convicted in court of operating a motor vehicle with an alcohol content of blood or breath shown to be .02 but less than .05 will be revoked.

1st - 3 months

2nd - 6 months

3 or more - 1 year

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

1st

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • Evidence of insurance
  • Level 1 alcohol education course

 

2nd and 3rd

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 6 months (2nd) or 1 year (3rd)from the date of reinstatement
  • Level II alcohol education course

 

TESTING FOR ALL:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test

 

Under 21 convicted of DUI or DWAI

 

DEFINITION:

This revocation is taken when a driver under the age of 21 is convicted of an alcohol related driving offense, either DUI or DWAI.  The revocation is for 1 year.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 1 year from the date of reinstatement provided there was no accident or prior alcohol on your record.
  • Level I alcohol education course

 

TESTING FOR ALL:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test

 

Revoke Per Se .08 second stop

 

DEFINITION:

The person has 7 days to request a hearing .  One year revocation (second offense)

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870 ) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement.
  • Level II alcohol education and therapy course is required.

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

Revoke Per Se .08 Third or subsequent offense

 

DEFINITION:

The person has 7 days to request a hearing .  Two year revocation for third or subsequent offense in a lifetime.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870 ) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement.
  • Level II alcohol education and therapy course is required.

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

Revoke Refusal

 

DEFINITION:

The person has 7 days to request a hearing .  When a driver refuses a chemical test for either drugs or alcohol for a first offense, the period of revocation is for 1 year.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for one year from date of reinstatement if there are no other alcohol convictions or revocations and no accident was involved, SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement if there was a prior alcohol violation or if there was an accident. 
  • Certification (DR2598 ) form completed .

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

Revoke Two Refusals

 

DEFINITION:

The person has 7 days to request a hearing.  When a driver refuses a chemical test for drugs or alcohol for a second offense, the period of revocation is for 2 years. May request early reinstatement after one year under revocation, then eligible for a restricted license with interlock for time remaining on the total restraint or 1 year, whichever is longer.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement
  • Certification (DR2598 ) form completed 

Voluntary Interlock Early Reinstatement:   Besides the above requirements a certificate of installation of interlock device and a signed lease agreement on all vehicles on which your name appears on the registration and any other vehicle you may drive, Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit  (DR 2058 ).  Lease agreement must cover the remainder of the restraint period or 1 year, whichever is longer.

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

Revoke Three Refusals

 

DEFINITION:

When a driver refuses a chemical test for either drugs or alcohol for a third or subsequent offense, the period of revocation is for 3 years.  May request early reinstatement after one year under revocation, then eligible for a restricted license with interlock for time remaining on the total restraint or 1 year, whichever is longer.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement
  • Certification (DR2598 ) form completed

Voluntary Interlock Early Reinstatement:  Besides the above requirements a certificate of installation and a signed lease agreement on all vehicles on which their name appears on the registration and any other vehicle the person may drive, Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (DR2058 ).  Lease agreement must cover the remainder of the restraint period or 1 year, whichever is longer.

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

Felony and Non-Felony Drug

 

DEFINITION:

Action taken when a driver is convicted for certain felony drug charges or if under the age of 21, non-felony drug offense.  Three months suspension (1st time) or one year (multiple) is ordered from the date of conviction.  A plea of no contest or a deferred sentence will have the same effect as a conviction.

CHANGE IN STATUTE EFFECTIVE 8-5-09;

If your conviction date is 8-5-09 or after, a suspension will no longer be taken.  House Bill 09-1266 repealed the suspension.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).

 

TESTING:

A new license may be obtained without testing.

 

 

Two Alcohol Convictions

 

DEFINITION:

This restraint is taken when a driver receives two alcohol violations in a 5 year period.  The revocation is ordered for a period of one year.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement
  • Level II alcohol educationand therapy course.

In addition to the above requirements the Ignition Interlock Device must be installed if one alcohol offense occurred on or after 7/1/00.

  • Certificate of installation
  • Signed lease agreement on all vehicles on which your name appears on the registration and any other vehicle you may drive
  • Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (DR2058 ) form

 

You must hold a restricted license for at least one year prior to applying for a regular driver license.   If offense occurred on or after July 1, 2004 the interlock requirement and restricted license must be held for two (2) years. 

 

TESTING

A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test in an interlock vehicle.

 

Three Alcohol Convictions

 

DEFINITION:

This restraint is taken when a driver receives three or more alcohol violations over the lifetime of the driving record.  The revocation is ordered for a period of 2 years.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement
  • Level II alcohol education and therapy course.

In addition to the above requirements the Ignition Interlock Device must be installed if one alcohol offense occurred on or after 7/1/00.

  • Certificate of installation
  • Signed lease agreement on all vehicles on which your name appears on the registration and any other vehicle you may drive
  • Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (DR2058 ) form

 

You must hold a restricted license for at least one year prior to applying for a regular driver license.   If offense occurred on or after July 1, 2004 the interlock requirement and restricted license must be held for two (2) years. 

 

TESTING

A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test in an interlock vehicle.

 

Drove Under Insurance Suspension

 

DEFINITION:

This restraint is taken when a driver is under a suspension, either a suspension for not having liability insurance or because of early insurance termination and they are convicted of a moving violation or are in an accident.  The revocation is ordered for one year from the conviction date if caused by a violation, or one year from the accident date.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date of reinstatement

 

TESTING:

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive test.

 

 

Administrative Insurance Suspension

 

DEFINITION:

This suspension is taken when a driver is stopped by an officer and it cannot be verified that the driver has insurance on the vehicle.  (Compulsory Insurance Law 42-4-1409)  The driver is issued an Affidavit and Notice of Suspension.  The notice is a valid license for seven days following the date of notice and during that time the driver may request a hearing.  Proof of current insurance is required for this hearing request.

The driver may avoid suspension by providing proof that the vehicle was insured at the time of the stop or by providing an SR22 filing (for 3 years from the date the Department receives it).

2nd stop for not having insurance on a vehicle carries a four (4) month suspension.

3rd or subsequent time carries an eight (8) suspension.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for three years from date received by the department.

 

TESTING:

A duplicate license must be purchased for $7.50 (1st) or $14.00 (2nd) unless a new application is required for some other reason.

 

Insurance Termination

 

DEFINITION:

This action is taken when a driver is required to file SR22 insurance and it is canceled before the requirement to file is over.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for if still required - if time is over then evidence of insurance.

 

TESTING:

A duplicate license may be purchased or if the driver still has the license once reinstated the status of the license will go back to valid.

 

 

No Liability Insurance

 

DEFINITION:

This restraint action is taken when the department receives a conviction from the court of No Liability Insurance.  If SR22 insurance is received before the action date no restraint will be taken.  This insurance must be maintained for 3 years from the date of conviction.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • SR22 for 3 years from the date of the conviction on the ticket.

 

TESTING:

A duplicate license may be purchased or if the driver still has the license once reinstated the status of the license will go back to valid.

 

Failed to Comply with Child Support Order

 

DEFINITION:

This suspension is taken when a parent does not make the court ordered child support payments.

 

REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS:

  • Application for Reinstatement (DR2870) form
  • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
  • Notice of Compliance sent electronically to the department by the State Child Support Enforcement Unit.

 

TESTING:

A duplicate license may be purchased or if the driver still has the license once reinstated the status of the license will go back to valid.

 

NOTE:  If this is the only restraint action against your driving privilege you may reinstate by mail or in a full service driver's license office  that offers this service.