Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

Military Plates

4th Infantry Division

Navy Cross

Air Force Cross 

NORAD

Bronze Star

Pearl Harbor Survivor

Bronze Star of Valor

Prisoner of War

Civil Air Patrol

Purple Heart

Disabled Veteran

Silver Star

Disabled Veteran Handicapped

UDT/SEALs

Distinguished Service Cross

U.S. Air Force

Fallen Air Force

U.S. Army 

Fallen Army

U.S. Army Special Forces 

Fallen Goast Guard

U.S. Coast Guard 

Fallen Marines

U.S. Marine Corps 

Fallen Navy

U.S. Navy 

Honorably Discharged Veteran

Veteran of Afghanistan War 

Korean War Veteran

Veteran of Iraq War

Medal of Honor

Veteran of Operaton Desert Storm/ Desert Shield

National Guard

Veteran of World War II

 Vietam Veteran

 

4th Infantry Division License Plate

4th Infantry Division

 

 

 

 

 

About:  Creation of this plate was per House Bill 08-1175.

 

Available For: Passenger cars or trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles and motor homes.

 

Who Qualifies:  The 4th Infantry Division license plate may be issued to any person that desires to show support for the U.S. Army 4th Infantry Division.

 

Requirements:  None

 

Fees:  One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited


Plate Options:  None

 

Motorcycle Plates:   Motorcycle plate options

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213

Air Force Cross License Plate

Air Force Cross

 

 

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Air Force Cross Medal

 

Requirements : 

  • Qualifying person must submit a copy of DD214 form (issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Air Force Cross medal, along with the DR 2181 form .

 

To Obtain a Set:

The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

 

In Person  

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503

By Mail 

Department of Revenue

Registration Section

Denver, CO 80261-0016 

 

Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(E). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Exempt - One set only. Second and additional - Unlimited.

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

Information:  Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

Bronze Star License Plate

Bronze Star

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Bronze Star medal.

 

Requirements:  

  • Qualifying person must submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Bronze Star medal, along with the DR 2690 form.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

Bronze Star of Valor License Plate

Bronze Star of Valor

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Bronze Star of Valor medal.

 

Requirements:

  • Qualifying person must submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Bronze Star of Valor medal, along with the DR 2690 form .

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

 

Information:  Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

 

 

State of Colorado Image

Civil Air Patrol

 

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 13-060

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: A natural person who supports the Civil Air Patrol may use the Civil Air Patrol license plate

 

Requirements: None

 

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: None

 

Motorcycle Plates: Motorcycle plate options.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-213(27).

 
 
Disabled Veteran License Plate

Disabled Veteran  

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who can demonstrate being 50% or more Permanent Service-Connected Disabled.

 

Requirements: Qualifying person must submit a copy of letter from the Veteran Administration or letter from their branch of service stating that the qualifying person is 50% or more Permanent Service-Connected Disabled. Honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States (Proof may be on the DD 214 or other discharge documents issued by the Armed Services of the United States)

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503 

By Mail

Department of Revenue

Title and Registration Sections

P.O. Box 173350

Denver, CO 80217-3350 

 

Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(B). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Exempt - One set only. Second and additional - Unlimited.

 

Please note:

  • This plate does not permit the owner to park his/her vehicle or a vehicle in which they are a passenger in designated disability parking spaces.
  • For assistance in ensuring correct documentation is being submitted and to speed up the issuance process, please print and use the Disabled Veteran License Plate Checklist.

Disabled Veteran License Plate Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

Disabled Veteran Handicapped License Plate

Disabled Veteran Handicapped

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who can demonstrate being 50% or more Permanent Service-Connected Disabled AND physical impairment verified in writing by a Colorado licensed physician, an advanced practice nurse, or a Commissioned Medical Officer.

 

Requirements:

  • A copy of letter from the Veteran Administration or letter from their branch ofservice stating that the qualifying person is 50% or more Permanent Service-Connected Disabled.
  • A copy of their verified written physical impairment letter.
  • A completed Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Privileges form.

To Obtain a Set: The exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:
 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503

By Mail

 

Title and Registration Sections

PO Box 173350

Denver, CO 80217-3350

 


 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(B).  

Number of Plates Allowed: One set only.  

Please note:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disabled Veteran Hanicap Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-104(5), 42-3-213, 42-3-204 and 42-3-304(3)(A).

 

 

  State of Colorado Image

Distinguished Flying Cross

 

Plate is effective January 1, 2013

 

Available for: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who can demonstrate being awareded the Distinguished Flying Cross

 

Requirements:

  • When applying for the license plate, the applicant shall submit to the department military order awarding or any other evidence the department may accept

 

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees

 

Number of Plates: Unlimited

 

Plate Options: None

Motorcycle Plate Options: Motorcycle license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213(25)

Distinguished Service Cross License Plate

Distinguished Service Cross

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Distinguished Service Cross medal.

 

Requirements:  Qualifying person must submit a copy of form DD214 (Issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Distinguished Service Cross medal, along with the DR 2181 form.

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

In Person

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503

By Mail

Department of Revenue

Title and Registration Sections

P.O. Box 173350\

Denver, CO 80217-3350

 

Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(E). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited. Only the first set is exempt from fees.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

 

Fallen Airman (Air Force) License Plate

Fallen Air Force

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: See Requirements. Applicant must submit DR 2432 to the State Registration Section (address on form).

 

Requirements:

  • The current or past spouse, child, sibling, grandparent or parent of the service member must provide acceptable proof such as: birth/death certificates, census records, historical archives, military records, etc.
  • The service member died in the line of duty while serving in the armed forces while deployed to a combat zone. Acceptable proof: service member's DD214, service record, officially issued documents or death certificates, etc.

 

Fees: One set if plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(G) and 42-3-312. A second, or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

 

 

 

Fallen Soldier (Army) License Plate

Fallen Army

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: See Requirements. Applicant must submit DR 2432 to the State Registration Section (address on form).

 

Requirements:

  • The current or past spouse, child, sibling, grandparent or parent of the service member must provide acceptable proof such as: birth/death certificates, census records, historical archives, military records, etc.
  • The service member died in the line of duty while serving in the armed forces while deployed to a combat zone. Acceptable proof: service member's DD214, service record, officially issued documents or death certificates, etc.

 

Fees:  One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(G) and CRS 42-3-312. A second, or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

 

Fallen Guardsman (coast Guard) License Plate

Fallen Coast Guard

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: See Requirements. Applicant must submit DR 2432  to the State Registration Section (address on form).

 

Requirements:

  • The current or past spouse, child, sibling, grandparent or parent of the service member must provide acceptable proof such as: birth/death certificates, census records, historical archives, military records, etc.
  • The service member died in the line of duty while serving in the armed forces while deployed to a combat zone. Acceptable proof: service member's DD214, service record, officially issued documents or death certificates, etc.

 

Fees:  One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(G) and CRS 42-3-312. A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 
Fallen Marine License Plate

Fallen Marine

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit DR 2432 to the State Registration Section (address on form).

 

Requirements:  

  • The current or past spouse, child, sibling, grandparent or parent of the service member must provide acceptable proof such as: birth/death certificates, census records, historical archives, military records, etc.
  • The service member died in the line of duty while serving in the armed forces while deployed to a combat zone. Acceptable proof: service members DD214, service record, officially issued documents or death certificates, etc.

 

Fees:  One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(G) and 42-3-312. A second, or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information:  Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

Fallen Service License & World War II License Plate Member Application pdf file

 

Fallen Sailor (Navy) License Plate

Fallen Navy

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: See Requirements. Applicant must submit DR 2432  to the State Registration Section (address on form).

 

Requirements:  

  • The current or past spouse, child, sibling, grandparent or parent of the service member must provide acceptable proof such as: birth/death certificates, census records, historical archives, military records, etc.
  • The service member died in the line of duty while serving in the armed forces while deployed to a combat zone. Acceptable proof: service members DD214, service record, officially issued documents or death certificates, etc.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)II)(G) and 42-3-312. A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

Honorably Discharged Veteran License Plate

Honorably Discharged Veteran

  

Available for: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who can demonstrate being honorably discharged or retired from any branch of the U.S. Armed Services.

 

Requirements:  

  • Qualifying person must submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or their honorable discharge documents.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

Korean War Veteran License Plate

Korean War Veteran

 

Available for: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who can demonstrate being a member of the U.S. Armed Forces between 06/27/1950 and 01/31/1955.

 

Requirements:  

  • Qualifying person must submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or other military separation papers that indicate the dates of time served in the U.S. Armed Forces.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

Medal of Honor License Plate

Medal of Honor  

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Medal of Honor.

 

Requirements:  

  • Qualifying person must submit a copy of form DD214 (Issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Medal Honor.

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503 

By Mail 

Department of Revenue

Registration Section

Denver, Colorado 80261-0016 


 

Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(C). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited. Only the first set is exempt from fees.

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

 

National Guard License Plate

National Guard

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles and motor homes. 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who is active or retired member of the Colorado National Guard. Applicants must submit the DR 2226 form.

 

Requirements:

  • Initial issue: Submit DR 2226 to certify Colorado National Guard status.
  • Renewal: Each renewal will require an annual Colorado National Guard status certification.
  • Retired: Once retired status is certified, no annual renewal certification will be required.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-218.

 

 

Navy Cross License Plate

Navy Cross

 

 

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person awarded the Navy Cross medal.

 

Requirements:

  • Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Navy Cross medal, along with the DR 2181 form . 

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503 

By Mail

Department of Revenue

Registration Section

Denver, Colorado 80261-0016

 

 

Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(E). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed:  Unlimited.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

NORAD License Plate

NORAD

 

 

About: The Norad license plate is a limited issued commemorative plate that will only be issued from July 1, 2008 through January 1, 2010.  Plates issued within this period may continue to use those plates after January 1, 2010 until they become damaged, destroyed, lost, stolen or unreadable.

 

Available for: The Norad license plate may be issued to trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, passenger cars, motorcycles, or a noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreational vehicle.

 

Who Qualifies: The Norad license plate may be issued to any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Norad plate.

 

Requirements: None

 

Fees: A one-time fee of $50.00 will be collected for the issuance or replacement of the Norad license plates.

 

Plate Options: None

 

Motorcycle Plates: Motorcycle plate options.

 

Number of Plates Allowed:Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statue 42-3-213

 

 

 

Pearl Harbor Survivor License Plate

Pearl Harbor Survivor

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who

  • Can demonstrate being a member of the U.S. Armed Services on 12/07/1941, stationed at Pearl Harbor during the hours of 7:55 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. (Hawaii time)
  • Has received an honorable discharge
  • Holds a current membership in a national organization of Pearl Harbor Survivors

 

Requirements:

  • Qualifying person must submit the DR 2130 form .

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

 

 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503

By Mail 

Department of Revenue

Registration Section

Denver, Colorado 80261-0016

 

 

Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(F). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed:  Unlimited.

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

Former Prisoner of War License Plate

Prisoner of War

 

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who was on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forces during a period of armed conflict while incarcerated by an enemy of the United States.

 

Requirements:  

  • Qualifying person must submit DR 2502 form.

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503 

By Mail

Department of Revenue

Registration Section

Denver, Colorado 80261-0016 

 

 

Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(A). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited. Only the first set is exempt from fees.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213

 

Purple Heart License Plate

             

                   

               Purple Heart Motorcycle License Plate

Purple Heart  

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person awarded the Purple Heart medal.

 

Requirements:  

  • Qualifying person must submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Purple Heart medal, along with the DR 2223 form .

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503 

By Mail 

Department of Revenue

Title and Registration Section

PO Box 173350

Denver, Colorado 80217-3350 

 


Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(D). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.Only the first set is exempt from fees.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

Silver Star License Plate

Silver Star

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person awarded the Silver Star medal.

 

Requirements:  

  • Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or military orders that demonstrate being awarded the Silver Star medal, along with the DR 2181 form .

 

To Obtain a Set: The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

 

 

In Person 

Division of Motor Vehicles

Department of Revenue

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, Colorado 80214-3503

By Mail

Department of Revenue

Registration Section

Denver, Colorado 80261-0016 


 

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(E). A second or additional set requires a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited. Only the first set is exempt from fees.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

 

 

 
  State of Colorado Image
 

UDT/SEALs

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 13-120

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: A natural person who has received an honorable discharge, is retired, or is an active or reserve member of the United States navy seals may use a United States Navy Seals license plate.  

Requirements:

  • To qualify for the license plate, an applicant must submit a DD214 form issued by the United States government and a certification from the UDT/SEAL association, Inc., the Rocky Mountain chapter of the UDT/SEAL association, Inc., or a successor organization, that the applicant has an honorable discharge from, is retired from, or is currently an active or reserve member of the Navy SEALs.
     
     

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.
 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: None

 

Motorcycle Plates: Motorcycle plate options.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-213(26).

 
 
U.S. Air Force License Plate

U.S. Air Force

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

  

Who Qualifies: Any person who has received an honorable discharge or is retired, or is an active or reserve member of the U.S. Air Force.

 

Requirements:  Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), or submit other evidence proving the person is a veteran or reserve member or active member of any component of the U.S. Air Force.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

  

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

U.S. Army License Plate
U.S. Army
 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who is an active or reserve member, or is retired or has received an honorable discharge from the U.S. Army.

 

 

Requirements: 

  • Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), or applicant submits other evidence of being a veteran, reserve member or active member of any component of the U.S. Army.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information:  Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

U.S. Army Special Forces License Plate

U.S. Army Special Forces

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who has received an honorable discharge or is retired, or is an active or reserve member of the U.S. Army awarded prefix "3" or suffix "S" or a designation of "5G", 18/180 MOS, Special Forces Tab, OSS or UNPIK-8240.

 

Requirements: 

  • Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), or
  • Orders demonstrate being awarded prefix "3" or suffix "S" or a designation of "5G", 18/180 MOS, Special Forces Tab, OSS or UNPIK-8240.
  • Qualifying person must submit form DR 2382.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

U.S. Army Special Forces License Plate Application pdf file

 

U.S. Coast Guard License Plate

U.S. Coast Guard

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who has received an honorable discharge or is retired, or is an active auxiliary or reserve member of the U.S. Coast Guard

 

Requirements:  Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), or submit other evidence proving the person is a veteran or reserve member or active member of any component of the U.S. Coast Guard.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

U.S. Marine Corps License Plate

U.S. Marine Corps

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who has received an honorable discharge or is retired, or is an active or reserve member of the U.S. Marine Corps.

 

 

Requirements: Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), or submit other evidence proving person is a veteran or reserve member or or active member of any component of the U.S. Marine Corps.

 

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

U.S. Navy License Plate

U.S. Navy

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who has received an honorable discharge or is retired, or is an active or reserve member of the U.S. Navy.

 

Requirements: Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), or submit other evidence to prove the person is a veteran, reserve member, or active member of any component of the U.S. Navy.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.

 

 State of Colorado Image

Veteran of Afghanistan War

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 10-1139.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

 

 

Who Qualifies: An individual that is a natural person who was a member of the United States Armed Services between October 7, 2001, and the end of the conflict.

 

Requirements: Qualifying individual must submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), military identification, or other such documents showing dates of service between October 7, 2001 and the end of the conflict.

 

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.
 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: None

 

Motorcycle Plates: Motorcycle plate options.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-213(21).

 

 State of Colorado Image

Veteran of Iraq War

 

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 10-1139.

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: An individual that is a natural person who was a member of the United States Armed Services between March 20, 2003, and the end of the conflict.

 

Requirements: Qualifying individual must submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government), military identification, or other such documents showing dates of service between March 20, 2003 and the end of the conflict.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.
 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: None

 

Motorcycle Plates: Motorcycle plate options.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-213(22).

 

State of Colorado Image

Veteran of Operations Desert Shield/Storm

 

Plate is effective January 1, 2013

 

About:  Creation of this plate was per House Bill 12-1162

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies:  The applicant must have been a member of the United States Armed Services between August 2, 1990 and February 28, 1991. Applicant shall provide a DD 214 form issued by the United States Government or other evidence sufficient to demonstrate that the applicant is a veteran of the armed services who served between August 2, 1990, and February 28, 1991.

 

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Plate Options: None

 

Motorcycle Plates: Motorcycle plate options

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213(24)

 

WWII veteran plate

Veteran of World War II

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 11-037.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: The service member served in the armed forces between September 16, 1940 and July 25, 1947


Requirements:

  • Complete the DR 2432 Fallen Service Member & World War II License Plate Application.Acceptable proof is the service members DD-214, showing service between September 16, 1940 and July 25, 1947 or separation papers indicating service during this time frame. Upon authorization, plates will be mailed to the County of residence for the qualified Veteran.

Fees: One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213 (1)(b)(II)(H) and C.R.S. 42-3-312. Second or additional sets require a one time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options: None

Motorcycle Plates: Motorcycle plate options.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-213(23).
 

 

 

Vietnam Veteran License Plate

Vietnam Veteran

 

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial 

(not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP)

 or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who can demonstrate being a member of the U.S. Armed Forces during the Vietnam engagement (08/07/1964 - 01/27/1973).

 

Requirements: Submit a copy of form DD214 (issued by the U.S. Government) or other separation papers that indicate the dates of time served in the U.S. Armed Forces.

 

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-213.