Becoming A Third Party CDL Testing Unit
Certified Commercial Third Party Tester Requirements
The CDL Compliance Section and the CDL Program are governed by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (Title 49, Part 383), C.R.S. and the Rules and Regulations for the CDL Program 1 CCR 204-12. Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-406 establishes fees for licensing (CDL & Third Party Testers). Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-407 allows for commercial driving testers employed by commercial driver's license testing units to give the driving skills tests.
The following are taken into consideration prior to being approved for training and licensing as a Testing Unit/Tester:
$600.00 for the 5 day Tester Training Course.
Training is done in the Denver Metro Area.
Candidate must successfully complete the course. Attendance alone is not a guarantee of successful completion.
Submit inquiries to:
Colorado Department of Revenue
Driver Testing and Education Section
1881 Pierce St, Rm 114
Lakewood, CO 80214-1497
Testing Unit $300.00
Each Tester $100.00
Testing Unit $100.00
Each Tester $50.00