Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

Motorcycle Endorsement

You can add a motorcycle endorsement to your license in two ways:

 
  1. Possess valid Colorado driver's license
  2. Pass motorcycle written test
  3. Purchase motorcycle instruction permit ($14)
  4. Pass motorcycle drive test
  5. Purchase new driver's license in a driver's license office with motorcycle endorsement ($23 for regular license; $37 for CDL)

OR

  1. Complete Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) training
    • MSF certificates will waive written and drive tests at Driver's License Office
  2. Purchase new driver's license in a driver's license office with motorcycle endorsement ($23 for regular license; $37 for CDL)

 

Do you have everything you need? Check with our Online Driver's License Office

 

 

Notes:

 

  • Per Colorado law, minors under 18 are required to purchase and hold a motorcycle instruction permit for 12 months before adding the motorcycle endorsement to their license. 

  • Minors under 16 must be under the direct supervision of the MSF motorcycle instructor at all times while driving a motorcycle. 

  • Colorado law requires that you present one document that shows your name and current residential address to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on your license. Click here to see a list of acceptable documents. 

     

 

Helpful Links: