Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

VIN Verifications

 

 

Form DR 2698 must be filled out for vehicles that were either:

 

  • Purchased in another state and are being registered in Colorado or
  • Vehicles that need Colorado plates but were previously registered in another state

 

The following is a partial list of businesses and law enforcement offices which offer VIN verification services. VIN verifications are required to register out-of-state vehicles.

 

A VIN verification is not the same as a Certified VIN Inspection. For information on Certified VIN Inspections, please visit the Colorado State Patrol VIN Inspection webpage.

 

CALL FOR APPOINTMENTS, HOURS, AND LATEST FEE INFORMATION

Location

Name

Fee

Phone

ADAMS COUNTY

Chase Automotive

$15

(303)344-4670

Rocky Mountain Diesel Emissions

$20

(303)288-5500

Stewart & Stevenson

$40

(303)287-7441

Trans West Freightliner

$44.03

(303)289-3161

Colorado State Patrol Adams County

$20

(303)289-4760

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

Northglenn Police Department

$20 residents only

(303)450-8853

Commerce City Police Department

$25 resident, $35 non-resident or business

(303)287-2844

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Adams County Motor Vehicle

FREE residents only

(720)523-6010

Thornton Police Department

FREE

(720)977-5150

ARAPAHOE COUNTY

Progressive Diesel, Inc.

$10

(303)761-4232

Bill's Automotive Repair

$15

(720)344-6707

Excel Diesel - Ken Caryl 

$15

(303)904-1500

Diesel Testing Center

$20

(303)366-4532

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Arapahoe County Motor Vehicle (no appointment necessary)

$12 residents only

(303)795-4500

GO Dodge Arapahoe

FREE

(303)798-8808

BOULDER COUNTY

Al's Front Range Diesel

$10

(303)776-6469

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

Boulder Diesel Emissions

$20

(303)523-3109

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Boulder County Motor Vehicle (no appointment necessary)

$15

(303)413-7710

Colorado State Patrol Boulder County

$20

(303)469-1966

BROOMFIELD COUNTY

Fifth Gear Import Service Inc.

$10

(303)466-6552

S&S Service

$10

(303)460-7786

Broomfield Police Department

FREE residents only

(303)438.6459

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

DENVER COUNTY

A&D RV and Truck Repair

$10

(303)297-1530

Akisp Diesel Emissions

$10

(720)434-9343

Diesels Only

$10

(303)778-6511

L&N Automotive

$10

(303)937-8485

Cartech, Inc.

$15

(303)922-9393

Front Range Fleet & Auto Inc.

$15

(303)907-0555

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

Colorado Kenworth Inc.

$20

(720)941-0833

Denver County Motor Vehicle (9am - 3pm)

$20

(720)865-4600

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

DOUGLAS COUNTY

Diesel Performance & Service

$5

(303)841-6527

Parker Police

$5

(303)841-9800

Branch Automotive, LLC

$10

(303)771-2224

Douglas County Diesel Emissions

$10

(303)660-9986

Excel Diesel and SUV

$10

(303)400-6040

Castle Rock Police Department

$10

(303)660-1000

Douglas County Sheriff's Office

FREE

(303)660-7500

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Colorado State Patrol Douglas County

$20

(303)688-3115

EL PASO COUNTY

Exhaust Readers

$15

(719)260-6629

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

JEFFERSON COUNTY

Anderson's Foreign Car Service

$10

(303)278-8766

Lake Arbor Automotive and Truck

$10

(303)429-7700

Golden Police Department

$10 residents-only

(303)384-8045

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

LARIMER COUNTY

Engle Automotive

$8

(970)635-9760

Houska Automotive

$10

(970)482-0156

Nelsen’s Auto Tech Center

$10

(970)484-0834

Performance Auto Repair

$10

(970)482-3971

Proformance Diesel and Auto Repair

$5

(970)667-7396

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

Schwinzell's Diesel Inc.

$40

(970)493-3123

Larimer County Motor Vehicle Fort Collins & Estes Park (9am-3pm)

$15

(970)498-7878

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Lundsteadt Auto

FREE

(970)221-9400

WELD COUNTY

Agland Inc.

$20

(970)454-3391 x264

Auto Clinic

$15

(970)352-4387

Greeley Automotive Machine Inc.

$15

(970)352-4342

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Air Care Colorado (no appointment necessary)

$20

(303)456-7090

 

*All new and used car dealers that are licensed in the State of Colorado can perform VIN verifications