Each time you are convicted of a traffic violation in Colorado, the court notifies the Division of Motor Vehicles of the conviction. A conviction occurs when you plead guilty to a charge, pay a ticket or accept a plea bargain. Certain types of tickets will become convictions by default if you fail to appear in court.
Each type of conviction causes a certain number of points to be placed on your driving record. If you get too many points within a certain period of time, you will lose your driver's license through a point suspension. Each time you get a ticket the Division of Motor Vehicles places the points on your record and determines if there are enough points to cause a suspension of your driving privileges.
The following are point accumulations that result in suspension:
Adult Driver (21 and older)
12 points in any 12 consecutive months
18 points in any 24 consecutive months
Minor Driver (18 thru 20 years of age)
9 points in any 12 consecutive months
12 points in any 24 consecutive months
14 or more points between the ages of 18-21
Under the Age of 18
6 points in 12 consecutive months
7 points prior to turning 18
Colorado is required by law to notify you when any type of action is taken against your driver's license. In the event of a driver's license suspension because of an accumulation of points, a notice is sent to the last address that the DMV has on file. A notice of a hearing is sent; if you do not appear for that hearing, your driving privilege will be suspended for one year. You may request a hearing at any time during that year.
You will be given a reinstatement date at your hearing or through the mail. Reinstatement is mandatory; driving after your reinstatement date without following the reinstatement process is considered to be driving under suspension. To be reinstated, you must submit a completed Application for Reinstatement (DR-2870) and a $95 reinstatement fee payable to the Department of Revenue.
Driving records reflect all activity posted for the last seven years. Our records are maintained according to Colorado law and in keeping with the Federal Trade Commission and Fair Credit Reporting Act.