Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

Purchase Driving Record (MVR) Letter of Clearance

Blue Car Driving

The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles maintains driving records that reflect activity posted to the record for the past seven years. (They cannot be limited to show periods of less than seven years.) These records are maintained in accordance with State and Federal laws including the Fair Credit Reporting Act and the requirements of the Federal Trade Commission.
 

You may purchase non-certified copies of your driving record at full service Driver's License Offices. Certified copies of driving records are available only at the Division of Motor Vehicles, 1881 Pierce St, Lakewood, CO 80214.

 

 

Requests must include:

 

  • Full name
  • Date of birth
  • Driver's license number (if available)
  • Complete and legible original signature of driver
  • Photocopy of driver's photo ID bearing signature
  • $2.20 fee ($2.70 certified copy) - do not send cash

 

Privacy laws prevent us from providing you with a driving record other than your own without that person's permission. If you are requesting a record as an employer or because of a pending court case, you may be permitted to receive the record based upon the criteria of the Driver Record Search Requestor Release . This form may be printed from our website and submitted with the appropriate fee.

 

Our mailing address is:

Department of Revenue

Motor Vehicle Records

POB 173350

Denver CO 80217-3350