Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

Other Plates

5 Year Collector

Honorary Consul

5 Year Collector Truck/Tractor

Horseless Carriage

Amateur Call Letter

Livery

Apportioned Plates

Manufacturer

Colorado State Patrol

SMM Dealer Demo

Commercial Call Letter

SMM Exempt

Commercial Fleet Set

Special Mobile Machine

Commercial Fleet Single

Special Use Truck

Dealer Demo

State Representative

Dealer Full-Use

State Senator

Dealer In-Transit

Street Rod

Depot Tag

Taxicab

Farm Tractor

Tow Truck

Farm Truck

Transporter

Government Set

TVW (GVW Tractor)

Government Single

U.S. Representative

GVW Truck

U.S. Senator

Year of Manufacturer

 

 

5 Year Collector Vehicle License Plate

5 Year Collector Passenger

 
 

About: Vehicles must be (a) Model year 1975 or earlier; or(b) Model year 1976 or later that was registered as a collector's itemprior to September 1, 2009; except that a vehicle so registered is not
eligible for registration as a collector's item upon sale or transfer to a
new owner;
OR
(c) A model year at least thirty-two years old unless the vehicle was registered before september 1,2009, and meets the requirements of paragraph (b) of this subsection (2). if the vehicle is being registered under this paragraph (c) and in the program area, as defined in section 42-4-304:

(i) The vehicle must have passed an emissions test meeting the
standards of part 3 of article 4 of this title within the last twelve months
before being initially registered by the owner as a collector's item; and
(ii) The owner must sign an affidavit DR 2839 that the vehicle will not
be driven on roadways for more than four thousand five hundred miles
per year.
All taxes and fees shall be five times the annual taxes and fees normally assessed.

 

Available For: Passenger cars and trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight.

 

Misc. Info: Motor vehicles that were grandfathered in prior to September 1, 2009 may remain registered as a collector's item until registration is allowed to expire or upon sale or transfer of ownership.

 

Fees:  One time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: Personalized plate options.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-12-101, 42-12-102 and 42-12-401.

 

Please click here for more information about Collector Vehicles

 
   
5 Year Collector Truck/Tractor License Plate

5 Year Collector Truck/Tractor

 About: Motor vehicles that are model year 1975 or earlier or motor vehicles with a model year 1976 or later that were registered as a collector's item prior to September 1, 2009 driven to and from:

 

  • Assemblies and conventions,
  • Special occasions, demonstrations and parades,
  • Traveling to and from local, state and national tours.

All taxes and fees shall be five times the annual taxes and fees normally assessed.

 

Available For: 25 year or older trucks or tractors that have an empty weight of 16,001 pounds or more or declared gross vehicle weight of 16,001 pounds or more.

 

Requirements:  

 

  • Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) proof of compliance.

Misc. Info: Motor vehicles that were grandfathered in prior to September 1, 2009 may remain registered as a collector's item until registration is allowed to expire or upon sale or transfer of ownership.

 

Fees:  One time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: Personalized license plates.

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-12-101, 42-12-102 and 42-12-401.

 

 

 

Personalized Amateur Call Letter License Plate

Amateur Call Letter

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who has a valid, renewable amateur radio license issued by the Federal Communications Commision.

 

Requirements:   

  • A copy of the person's amateur radio license and form DR 2810.

 

Fees:  Annual fee of $2.00 for personalization, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

MUST be Personalized: Personalized license plates.  

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-210.

Apportioned License Plate

Apportioned License Plate Apportioned Truck License Plate

 

Apportioned Plates

 

Available For: Vehicles participating in inter-state commerce.

 

Requirements: 

  • Contact Department of Revenue, Motor Carrier Services at (303)205-5602.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-107.

 

Colorado State Patrol License Plate

Colorado State Patrol

Available For: Vehicles owned by the Colorado State Patrol only.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Requirements:  

  • Application, registrations and issuance conducted by State Registration Services.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-104.

Commercial Call Letter license Plate

Commercial Call Letter

Available For: Passenger cars and trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight.

 

Who Qualifies:  Any person who has a valid, renewable standard radio, FM or television license issued by the Federal Communications Commission.

 

Requirements:   

  • A copy of the person's amateur radio license and form DR 2810.

 

Number of Plates Allowed:  Up to ten sets per commercial radio, FM or television license allowed.

 

Fees:  Annual fee of $5.00 for personalization, in addition to other taxes and fees.

 

MUST be Personalized: Personalized license plates.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-210.

Commercial Fleet License Plate

Commercial Fleet - Set

About: Issued to an owner of 10 or more vehicles and who establishes a common expiration month for his/her vehicles.

 

Available For: Passenger vehicles, light trucks and GVW trucks.

 

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2428.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-125.

 

 

Commercial Fleet License Plate

Commercial Fleet - Single

About: Issued to an owner of 10 or more vehicles and who establishes a common expiration month for his/her vehicles.

 

Available For: Trailers, truck tractors and SMM equipment.

 

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2428.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-125.
Dealer Demo License Plate

Dealer Demo

Available For: Any dealer licensed by Colorado Dealer Licensing Board.

 

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)

  • $32.00 for the 1st plate
  • $9.50 for the 2nd - 5th plate
  • $12.00 for each plate thereafter

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Requirements:

  •  Must be a Colorado licensed dealer and for vehicles being driven by prospective buyer for demonstration purposes or for vehicles being driven by dealership employee during normal business hours for conducting legitimate dealership business.

 

For Motorcycle Dealers: Dealer motorcycle plate.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116(6).

Full-Use Dealer License Plate

Dealer Full-Use

About: Vehicles displaying Dealer Full-Use license plates may be utilized by the owners and co-owners or employees of the dealership, the spouse or dependent child living in the same household as the licensed dealer or wholesaler or any person including former, current and prospective customers, in order to serve the legitimate business interest of the dealership.

 

Available For: Any vehicle owned and offered for sale by the dealer/wholesaler.

 

Who qualifies: Any Colorado licensed dealer/wholesaler that has sold more than twenty-five motor vehicles in the twelve-month period preceeding the application.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

For Motorcycle Dealers: Dealer motorcycle plate.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116(6).

In-Transit Passenger License Plate

Dealer In-Transit

 

About: Used on vehicles being moved from point of purchase to the point of storage or, from point of storage to the point of sale or, for an intra-state and inter-state transport of motor vehicles consigned to be sold by said auction, for an intra-state and inter-state transport of motor vehicles owned by said dealer or wholesaler or for demonstration purposes on vehicles offered for sale, only when dealer representative is present in the vehicle.

 

Available For: Plates are transferred from one vehicle to another.

 

Who Qualifies: Any Colorado license dealer that can demonstrate being licensed by the Colorado Dealer Licensing Board.

 

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)

  • $32.00 for the 1st  plate
  • $9.50 for the 2nd - 5th plates
  • $12.00 for each plate thereafter

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Depot License plates

Depot Tag

About: Plates are not assigned to specific vehicles and are used for road testing authorized vehicles or for moving vehicles for purposes of repairing, painting, upholstering, polishing and related activities.

 

Available For: Used on license dealer's vehicles which are being transported to and from the dealer's place of business or storage.

 

Requirements:  

  • Complete DR 2521 form.

 

Fees: $5 per plate plus material fees

 

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate per mechanic or service technician employed by the licensed dealership.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116.

Farm Tractor License Plate

Farm Tractor

About: Used to transport to market or place of storage, raw agricultural products that are actually produced, or livestock raised by the owner of the vehicle or transporting commodities which have been purchased by the owner of the vehicle for their own use or to be used in the operation of their farm or ranch. Growers of sod /trees can use these plates only to deliver to the consumer.

 

Available For: Farm tractor not designed to carry cargo and used to pull a semi-trailer or trailer and its cargo over the public highways.

 

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2159.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

 

Plate Options: Personalized license plates.

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-306(4)(a).

Farm Truck License Plate

Farm Truck

About: Used to transport to market or place of storage, raw agricultural products that are actually produced, or livestock raised by the owner of the vehicle transporting commodities which have been purchased by the owner of the vehicle for their own use or to be used in the operation of their farm or ranch. Growers of sod/trees can use these plates only to deliver to the consumer.

 

Available For: Farm truck equipped with a body, which is generally and commonly used to carry and transport property over the public highways.

 

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2159.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: Personalized license plates.

 

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-306(4)(a).

Government License Plate

Government - Set

Available For: State owned or leased vehicles or any passenger cars, trucks, buses, GVW trucks, and motor homes owned or leased by any city, county, town and school districts.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-104(4).

Government License Plate

Government - Single

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Available For: State owned or leased vehicles or any trailers, SMM, tractors or motorcycles owned or leased by any city, county and town and school districts.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-104(4).

GVW Truck License Plate

GVW Truck

Available For: Any truck weighing 16,001 pounds or more or with an empty weight between 10,001 pounds and 16,000 pounds, that operate in conjunction with a trailer and have a combined empty vehicle weight of 16,001 pounds or more (empty weight of the truck plus the empty weight of the trailer).

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options:  Personalized plates.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-305(5).

Honorary Consular Corps License Plate

Honorary Consul

Available For: Vehicles owned by official representatives of a foreign government or to official consuls of a foreign government.

 

Who qualifies:  Person recognized by the United States Department of State as being a representative or consul of a foreign government. Applicant must submit a current Colorado registration on the vehicle, a copy of their Consular card or a letter of recognition issued to them by the United States Department of State.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Two sets per representative or consul of a foreign government.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-103.

Horseless Carriage License Plate

Horseless Carriage

About: Vehicles are limited to driving to and from assemblies, conventions for demonstrations and parades, occasional leisure drives, and on other occasions when their operations will not constitute a traffic hazard. Plates are registered for a set 5-year cycle with all plates expiring on the same date within that set 5-year cycle regardless of the date of issue. Cycles are 2009, 2014, 2019 etc. Upon sale or transfer, the plate shall remain with the vehicle and be transferred to the new owner.

 

Available For: Passenger, light trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight and motorcycles.

 

Who Qualifies: Vehicles that are fifty (50) years or older from the date of registration and that are valued principally because of the vehicles early date of manufacturer, design, or historical interest or valued as collectors items.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

 

Motorcycle Plate:    Motorcycle plate option.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-12-301.

 State of Colorado Image

Livery   

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 10-1161.

 

Available For: Passenger Vehicles, adult buses, trailer coaches, or multi-purpose trailers.

 

Who Qualifies: Any person providing luxury limousine services authorized by the Public Utilities Commission.

 

Requirements:

  • Persons authorized by the Public Utilities Commision with a valid and current Colorado Public Utilities Commission Certificate of Registration as a Luxury Limousine Carrier by Motor Vehicle certificate.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited 

 

Online: Public Utilities Commission.

 

Plate Options: Personalized license plates.

Personalized License Plate Application

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-235.

Manufacturer License Plate

Manufacturer

About: Plates are not assigned to specific vehicles and may be used on any new vehicle owned by and titled in Colorado to the manufacturer or its factory branch.

 

Available For: Vehicle manufacturers licensed by the Colorado Auto Industry Division.

 

Who Qualifies: Vehicle must be titled in Colorado to the manufacturer or its factory branch and must carry the title receipt in the vehicle at all times.

 

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)

  • $30.00 for the 1st plate
  • $7.50 for the 2nd - 5th plates
  • $10.00 for each plate thereafter

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116.

 State of Colorado Image 

SMM Dealer Demo   

About: The SMM Dealer Demo license plate is issued to a person who sells special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business. 

 

Available For: The SMM Dealer Demo license plate may be displayed on special mobile machinery for sale and being demonstrated for the purpose of a sale. 

 

Who Qualifies: Any person who sells special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business. Person requesting to be issued the SMM Dealer Demo license plate shall provide sufficient evidence that he/she sells special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business. 

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116(7)(a)
 

SMM Exempt License Plate

SMM Exempt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Available For:  SMM Equipment that is registered with an SMM plate or decal, but does not conform to Colorado lighting requirements. This plate exempts the equipment from certain physical requirements only, not taxes due.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-202.

 Special Mobile Machinery License Plate 
 State of Colorado Image 

Special Mobile Machine

Available For: Machinery that is pulled, hauled, or driven over a highway and is either: a vehicle or equipment that is not designed primarily for the transportation of persons or cargo over the public highways; or a motor vehicle that may have been originally designed for transportation of person or cargo over the public highways, and has been redesigned or modified by the addition of mounted equipment or machinery, and is only incidentally operated or moved over the public highways. SMM includes vehicles commonly used in the construction, maintenance, and repairs of roadways, the drilling of wells, and the digging of ditches. (Effective October 1, 2010)


Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.
 

  SMM Vehicle Information Worksheet  

Special Use Truck License Plate

Special Use Truck

Available For: Vehicles that have been designated as a single use truck which are designed to carry a specific commodity and weigh over 16,000 lbs.  Special Use Trucks are:

  • Mobile mixing concrete trucks
  • Beverage carrying trucks with roll-up sides only
  • Roll-off trash trucks
  • Veterinary mobile unit trucks
  • Concrete pumpers
  • Trash compactors
  • Trucks used specifically to haul only recyclable materials
  • Roll-off trucks used specifically to haul only recyclable materials
  • Operator-owned vehicles transporting racehorses to and from the stud or to and from racing meet in Colorado
  • Vehicles specifically constructed for towing, wrecking, and repairing that is not otherwise used for transporting cargo
  • Mobile blood donation/collection vehicles
  • Mobile medical testing and screen vehicles.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-305(9).

Colorado State Representative License Plate

Colorado Representative House District

Available For: Passenger cars or trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight.

 

Who qualifies: Current State Representatives in the Colorado General Assembly.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per current Colorado State Representative.

 

Requirements: 

  • Application and issuance of the Colorado State Representative license plates is completed through the Sergeant in Arms or Department of Revenue Legislative Liaison.

 

Misc: No month and year tabs are issued.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209.

Colorado State Senator License Plate

Colorado Senator Senate District

Available For: Passenger cars or trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight.

 

Who qualifies: Current State Senators in the Colorado General Assembly.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per Colorado State Senator.

 

Requirements:  

  • Application and issuance is completed through the Sergeant in Arms or Department of Revenue Legislative Liaison.

 

Misc: No month and year tabs are issued.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209.

Personalized Street Rod License Plate

Street Rod

About: Vehicles manufactured in 1948 or earlier.

 

Available For: Passenger cars, light trucks, and recreational trucks.

 

Requirements:  

  • Applicant must submit a copy of their title or registration to verify the year of vehicle the plate is to be registered to along with form DR 2810.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

Plate Options: Personlized licence plates.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-211

Taxi Cab plate

Taxicab

About: Taxicab License Plate was created per House Bill 11-1234

 

Available For: Passenger vehicles, adult buses, trailer coaches, or multi-purpose trailers

 

Requirements: The Taxicab license plate is issued to a person providing Taxicab service authorized by the Public Utilities Commission

 

Plate Options: Personalized License Plates

 

Information: Colorado Revised Statutes 42-3-236

 

State of Colorado Image

Tow Truck

 

Effective January 1, 2013

 

About: Tow Truck License Plate was created per House Bill 12-1327

 

Available For: Passenger vehicles, adult buses, trailer coaches, or multi-purpose trailers

 

Requirements: The Tow Truck license plate is issued to a person providing Towing service authorized by the Public Utilities Commission

 

Plate Options: None 

Information: Colorado Revised Statutes 42-3-235.5

Transporter License Plate

Transporter

Available For:

  • Dealers that have a valid and current State of Colorado dealer's license as authorized and issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division.
  • Dealers of special mobile machinery that can provide such evidence to the department as to the extent of their business as well as documentation detailing previous sales of special mobile machinery.
  • Government agencies that are acting in the capacity of disposing of, auctioning of, or movement of previously owned Government motor vehicles.
  • Facilities engaged in repair activity for a State of Colorado licensed dealer that provide written agreement/contract with such licensed dealer(s).
  • Facilities engaged in repair activity that provide certificate of liability insurance and evidence of sales tax license in the entity's business name.
  • Drive-away or tow-away transporters that operate motor vehicles for State of Colorado license dealers that provide written agreement/contract with such licensed dealer.
  • Chartered Financial Institutions that provide to the department their Certificate of Charter or Supervised Lenders that provide a Supervised Lenders License issued by the State of Colorado Office of the Attorney General.
  • Businesses that provide a Repossessor Bond Letter issued by the State of Colorado Office of the Attorney General and certificate of liability insurance.
  • Businesses that are in the business of moving not currently registered motor vehicle that are being operated by other than the registered owner for the purposes of repossession, transit/transport, repair activity, or other stated purposes and not for personal/business operations use that provide to the department sufficient evidence to demonstrate the extent of this business.

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)

  • $30.00 for the 1st plate
  • $10.00 for each plate thereafter

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116

TVW (GVW Tractor) License Plate

TVW (GVW Tractor)

Available For: Any tractor designed and primarily used to pull trailers and semi-trailers, which carry a cargo load over the highway.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

 

 

Information:  Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-1-102(109)

U.S. Representative License Plate

U.S. Representative

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, or trailers classified as Class B or Class C personal property.

 

Who Qualifies: Current U.S. Representative from the State of Colorado.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per current U.S. Representative.

 

Requirements:  

  • Application and issuance is completed through the Department of Revenue Legislative Liaison.

 

Misc: No month and year tabs.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209

U.S. Senator License Plate

U.S. Senator

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, or trailers classified as Class B or Class C personal property.

 

Who Qualifies: Current U.S. Senators from the State of Colorado.

 

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per current U.S. Senator.

 

Requirements:  

  • Application and issuance is completed through the Department of Revenue Legislative Liaison.

 

Misc: No month and year tabs are issued.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209

 

Year of Manufacture

 

 

 

 

Fees: None

 

Number of Plates Allowed:Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statue 42-3-219

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

**Plate must be supplied by the applicant

 

About:  The Year of Manufacture license plate is an original plate for motor vehicles valued principally because of the vehicle's early date of manufacture, design, or historical interest or value as collectors' items.  Motor vehicles using such plates may be used exclusively for:

  • Driving such vehicle to and from assemblies, conventions, or other meetings where such vehicles and their ownership are the primary interest.
  • Demonstrations, parades, and when their operation on the street and highway will not constitute a traffic hazard.
  • Traveling to and from and while on local, state, or national tours held primarily for exhibition and enjoyment.

 

Available for: Year of Manufacture license plates are authorized for passenger cars, trucks, and motorcycles. 

 

Who qualifies: Any person with a qualifying vehicle and plates.

 

Requirements: The original plate shall meet the following criteria:

  • The plates were made at least thirty years prior to registration
  • Are embossed with the year of original issue
  • Are legible
  • Were issued with the year of manufacture of the vehicle upon which they are to be displayed
  • Do not exceed seven characters

 

The vehicle must have a current Colorado registration to allow the issuance of a Year of Manufacture plate.The applicant is responsible for providing the original plate.

 

 

 

 

Fees: None

 

Number of Plates Allowed:Unlimited.

 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statue 42-12-302