Banner Art
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

Implementation Timeline

Implementation Timeline

The Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (the Department) is currently working with the fiscal agent, Xerox State Healthcare, to implement ICD-10 into the current Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS). Starting October 1, 2015, the health care industry’s payers, providers, vendors, and all Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) covered entities will be required to use ICD-10 diagnosis (CM) and inpatient procedure code sets (PCS).


ICD-10 Phase Schedule Implementation Timeline Status
1. Awareness
Communication & Awareness Plan Complete
Supporting Vendor Evaluations Complete
Internal Training Plan Complete
2. Assessment
Review Program Organization Complete
Conduct Impact Analysis Complete
Review Translation Options Complete
Create ICD-10 Remediation Strategy & Plan Complete
3. Remediation
Code Mapping/Clinical Review In Progress
Policy Remediation In Progress**
System Remediation In Progress
4. Testing
Level 1 Unit and System testing (internal) 2014 Spring Timeframe*
Level 2 end to end testing (external) 2015 Spring Timeframe*
5. Transition
Evaluate Outcomes 2015*
Go live 2015 October
Post Implementation 2015 October - June 2016

*Dates listed are tentative and may change through the progression of the Software Development Life Cycle
**Policy Remediation will be an ongoing and repetitive effort past the System Remediation implementation date

Provider Resources

There is a wealth of ICD-10 resources avaliable to you prepare for the tranisiton from ICD-9.  Please review the following for more information:

ICD-10-CM/PCS Resource List-HIM/CHA Advisory Group