Banner Art

Producers

Colorado has recently adopted legislation involving long-term care insurance. One part of the bill HB 07-1038, deals with producer training for long-term care insurance. Colorado law requires resident accident/health insurance producers selling long-term care policies in Colorado to complete a one-time, 16 hour long-term care training course and a five hour refresher course every two years after the initial training. The 16 hour training involves eight hours of training in general long-term care insurance and 8 hours of training on the long-term care partnership program. The 16 hours of long-term care insurance and eight hours of training on the long-term care partnership program. The 16 hours of long-term care training can be completed as continuing education.

 

As of January 1, 2009, it is unlawful for a producer to sell any long-term care insurance, including Colorado Partnership coverage, without completing the required training. For a full explanation, please review Bulletin B-121.