Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Gov. Hickenlooper appoints judges in two judicial districts

DENVER — Friday, Dec. 21, 2012 — Gov. John Hickenlooper announced today the appointments of district judges in the 4th and 16th Judicial Districts.


The governor appointed Magistrate Judge Robin Chittum to the 4th Judicial District Court (El Paso and Teller counties). She will fill a vacancy occasioned by the resignation of the Hon. Ronald G. Crowder.


Chittum currently works as a magistrate judge in the 4th Judicial District, where she handles domestic relations cases. Chittum has also served on the bench as a County Court Magistrate, where she primarily handled permanent protection orders. Before becoming a magistrate, Chittum served as a Deputy District Attorney. While in the District Attorney’s Office, Chittum helped prosecute cases in homicide, crimes against children, sexual assault and vehicular homicide. Chittum also served on a Drug Enforcement Agency Task Force.


Chittum earned an undergraduate degree from Michigan State University and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Denver. Her appointment is effective Jan. 31, 2013.


The governor appointed County Court Judge Mark MacDonnell to the 16th Judicial District Court (Bent, Crowley and Otero counties). He will fill the vacancy occasioned by the retirement of the Hon. M. Jon Kolomitz.


MacDonnell currently serves on the 16th Judicial District (Bent) County Court bench. Because this is a 45 percent judicial position, MacDonnell also works as a solo practitioner and specializes in local government representation. Currently, he serves as the Bent and Crowley County Attorney; he represents the Bent, Crowley, and Prowers County’s Department of Socials Services; the City of Las Animas; and several Special Districts. Before his work as a solo practitioner, MacDonnell worked at the Law Firm of Lutz & Oliver.


MacDonnell earned an undergraduate degree from Adams State College and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Colorado. His appointment is effective Feb. 3, 2013.