Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Gov. Hickenlooper seeks additional federal drought assistance


Gov. John Hickenlooper sent a letter today to U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack requesting drought assistance for two additional counties.


“Colorado has experienced significant drought condition in the southern part of the state, and the conditions have now spread north,” the governor’s letter said.


Elbert and Douglas counties asked Hickenlooper to seek the federal assistance and be declared primary drought disaster areas. The declaration, if approved, would allow farmers and ranchers to apply for emergency loans if they are unable to obtain credit elsewhere.


Elbert and Douglas counties join 17 other counties that have sought drought assistance. Those counties are Alamosa, Baca, Bent, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Fremont, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Grande and Saguache.