Banner Art

Commission Members


Matt Smith, Chairperson


Matt Smith of Grand Junction, was appointed by Colorado Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary Mullarkey, and was reappointed in 2011 by Chief Justice Michael L. Bender to serve until 2015.  Commissioner  Smith served as the Chaiperson of the Commission from 2009-2011.  Previously, Mr.  Smith served as State Representative for House District 54, covering western Mesa and Delta Counties, from 1996-2004.  During that time, Mr. Smith served as Chairman of the House Local Government and Joint Legal Services committees, and as Vice-Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee.  Mr. Smith served two consecutive terms as Chair of the Energy Committee for the National Conference of State Legislators, and as Chair of the Energy Council, an international organization of state legislators from ten energy-producing states, four Canadian provinces, and Venezuela.  In addition to passing extensive water legislation, Commissioner Smith is best known for his leadership role in defeating the controversial water measure, Referendum A, in 2003.  An attorney in private practice, Mr. Smith has worked on water, natural resource and permitting issues, and has taught business law at Mesa State College.  He graduated Mesa State College in 1980 and earned his law degree from the University of Wyoming College of Law in 1984. 


Rosemary Marshall, Vice Chairperson


Rosemary Marshall is a Denver native and former Director of the office of Public Relations and Policy for the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment; during which time she received her certification from MIT-Harvard in public policy disputes. She is married to Cleophus Marshall and has three adult daughters.


Following a lengthy career in state government, she was elected in November 2000 to the Colorado House of Representatives, and served for four consecutive terms ending in December 2008. She served on the committees of Finance, Judiciary, Information Technology, Legal Services, Audit and the committee on Business Affairs and Labor which she chaired during her third and fourth terms in office. In addition she served on a special legislative Committee on Ethics appointed by Speaker Romanoff in 2006 and was the Prime House Sponsor of 07-210, legislation which implemented Article XXIX of the state constitution, “Ethics in Government”.


During her terms of office, a primary legislative focus was consumer protection which included the passage of new laws to provide penalties for Identity Theft and Predatory Lending. In addition she sponsored legislation to require licensing for mortgage brokers defining consequences for unscrupulous brokers who commit fraudulent acts against consumers. She has received numerous awards from the financial industry for her leadership on these initiatives, which included sponsoring and promoting a requirement for financial literacy to be taught in public schools.


She continues her community service to the citizens of Colorado, as a public policy advocate, and works to promote integrity in government by her involvement in countless local and statewide campaigns. She has been appointed to boards and commissions by former Mayor John Hickenlooper, Governors Owens and Ritter, and Denver’s current Mayor, Michael Hancock, and on January 10, 2013 was appointed by the Speaker of the Colorado House of Representatives, Mark Ferrandino to serve on the Colorado Independent Ethics Commission. Her term expires June 30 , 2015.


Bob Bacon, Commissioner

 Bob was appointed to the Commission by the Colorado Senate for a term commencing on July 1, 2013.  Bob served three terms (1997-2002) as a State representative from House District 53.  He was Assistant Minotrity Leader in the House in 1999-2000.  He was elected to the State Senate from Senate District 14 (the City of Fort Collins) in 2004 and re-elected for a second term in 2008. 

In 2012, Bob completed term in State Senate as Chair of the Senate Education Committee and is Vice Chair of the Senate State Affairs Committee, member of the Senate Appropriations Committee and Chair of the six member joint House and Senate Capital Development Committee He was twice elected, in 1991 and 1995, to the Board of Education of Poudre School District following retirement from high school teaching in 1991 and elected to the Colorado Association of School Boards (CASB) Board of Directors.

Bob serves on B.A.S.E. Camp (before and after school on-site child care) Board of Directors; he is currently president of the Board. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the Fort Collins Museum of Discovery. 

Bob is a native of Galesburg, Illinois, earned a B.S. in social sciences at Illinois State University and an M.A. in history from the University of Northern Colorado.

He .taught three years in Illinois, and from 1960 to 1991, taught in Poudre School District in Fort Collins, Colorado. In 2003, Poudre School District, Fort Collins, Colorado named a new elementary school, Bacon Elementary School, in his honor. 

Bob’s wife, Bev, taught for many years at Fort Collins High School. Bob and Bev have three married children and six grandchildren.


Bob enjoys traveling, gardening, and reading “whodunit” mysteries and historical fiction.



William J. Leone, Commissioner


William J. Leone was appointed to the Commission by Governor John L. Hickenlooper for a term commencing July 1, 2013.  Mr. Leone is currently Head of Litigation and a Partner at Norton Rose Fulbright in Denver (formerly known as Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.) and was also a Partner at Faegre & Benson LLP.  He served as the United States Attorney for the District of Colorado from 2004 to 2006, and was the First Assistant United States Attorney for three years before his appointment as United States Attorney.  Prior to his work at the United States Attorney’s Office, Mr. Leone was in private practice in Denver.
A native Coloradoan, Mr. Leone is a graduate of Colorado State University, where he was Phi Beta Kappa, as well as the University of Colorado School of Law. In law school, he was a member of the Law Review and Order of the Coif. He has received numerous awards and recognition for his work as an attorney. He is a member of the Colorado Bar Association, the Adams County Bar Association and he is a member of the Board of the National Association of Former U.S. Attorneys.  Mr. Leone’s term expires June 30, 2017.


Bill Pinkham, Commissioner


Bill Pinkham was appointed by the other four Commissioners to serve as a representative of local government in 2011.  He has served as Mayor of Estes Park since 2008, following four years on the Town Board. He is also a member of the Platte River Power Authority Board. He comes to the IEC with broad based corporate management and municipal government experience.


Pinkham moved to Estes Park following a 40-year career with Weyerhaeuser Company.  As mayor of Estes Park he has focused on improving the Town’s business processes and improving intergovernmental and community relations. The implementation of a code of conduct for the Estes Park Town Board was one of his top priorities. As Mayor Pro Tem and Trustee he pursued Wilderness status for Rocky Mountain National Park, and chaired a community based committee that developed an Economic Sustainability Vision adopted by the Town Board.  


Pinkham has always had an interest in volunteering and community involvement; he has served on numerous boards, including the Estes Valley Land Trust, Art Center of Estes Park, the Estes Park Chorale, and a private water company. Bill and his wife, Sue, are volunteer naturalists with both the National Park and the Larimer County Department of Natural Resources. They have seven children, and five grand children. Pinkham graduated from Amherst College with a BA in Economics, and also participated in the Weyerhaeuser Management Development Program and Japan Study Mission, as well as various post graduate programs.