Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Automobile Insurance

Automobile liability insurance is generally defined as coverage for bodily injury you cause to another person or for property damage you cause to another person’s property through negligent use of your vehicle. 

The minimum amount of liability insurance required by Colorado law is as follows:

  1. $25,000 per person for bodily injury;

  2. $50,000 per accident for bodily injury; and

  3. $15,000 per accident for property damage

Additional coverage, such as medical payment coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, comprehensive and collision are available, but not required. 

As of Jan. 1, 2009, Colorado requires mandatory "med-pay" coverage with all insurance policies. Consumers may refuse this coverage in writing. More information on med-pay can be found in the link on the left.

Auto Insurance Premiums Report

 News you can use

August 2012 

The new WreckCheck mobile app is now available! The new app outlines what to do immediately following an accident and walks users through a step-by-step process to create their own accident report. The app directsusers to capture photos and helps document and share only what is necessary to file an insurance claim. Users can even email their completed reports to themselves and their insurance agents. 

picture of WreckCheck logo

The 2011 Consumer's Guide to Auto Insurance is now available from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

The Colorado Auto Theft Prevention Authority (CATPA), was established by the Colorado General Assembly in Senate Bill 08-060. It requires an insurer pay a $1 assessment for every automobile it insures as of July 1 each year.  This assessment may be passed on to the Colorado consumer. 

Colorado consumers can learn more about the Colorado Auto Theft Prevention Authority at the Colorado Department of Public Safety.

Quick tips on auto insurance

Get Prepared for Your Summer Road Trip (NAIC)

Insuring Your Teen Driver (NAIC)

Un-insured and Under-insured Motorist Coverage in Colorado pdf file   (brochure)




facebook twitter


1560 Broadway, Suite 850, Denver, CO 80202 Email
(303) 894-7499 - Phone (800) 930-3745 - Toll Free (303) 894-7455 - Fax