Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

New Admission

These procedures apply to Shelter Plus Care (S+C) participants only. Shelter Plus Care (S+C) participants be sure to use the S+C Statement of Understanding, HAP Contract and Housing Worksheet.

 

Part One: Voucher Issuance and Applicant Briefing

 

Step One: Waiting List Draw

  •  Application is submitted from the agency when a slot becomes available.
  •  Conduct an Existing Tenant search and debts owed to PHAs search.
  •  Issue a Rental Assistance Document and send it to the agency with the voucher issuance Letter, CBMS, DOLE, and Family Support Registry reports, and Voucher Briefing Packet.
  •  Send the EIV report 90 days following the New Admission.


Step Two: Applicant Briefing

Agency Residential Coordinator

Assemble the applicant briefing paperwork. Include:
(Also see Forms Checklist)
 
Verification of Disability (if applicable), or other third party verification (if participant does not receive SSI/SSDI)
 
Application and Verification forms (as applicable): 
Verification of Student Status form (for household members 18 years and older)
 
 
Declaration of 214 Status Form for all household members
 

Within 10 days of voucher issuance:

  • Invite the applicant and all adult household members to the applicant briefing. Request the applicant to bring the following original documents to the applicant briefing:

                     Verification of all household income, assets, and medical/child care expenses

                and

                Identification documents: Birth certificates, social security cards, and Colorado IDs or driver’s licenses

  • Verify that the applicant meets the HUD homeless or chronically homeless definition depending on the grant requirements.
  • View and photocopy the original documents: Birth certificates and Social Security cards of all household members, and current Colorado ID or valid driver’s license for all adult household members.

 

If above eligibility factors are met:

Complete the applicant briefing by using DOH’s Applicant Briefing Packet as a guide.

 

Step Three: Completing the Applicant Briefing Paperwork

Agency Residential Coordinator

Document Review

Review all forms requiring signature to ensure they are properly completed:

Rental Assistance Document (head of household)
Certificate of Applicant Briefing (all family members age 18 and over)
Family Reporting Form including Supplement to Application (all family members age 18 and over)
Authorization for Release of Information/Privacy Act Notice
 (all family members age 18 and over)
DOH Authorization for Release of Information (all family members age 18 and over)
Declaration of 214 Status [all family members (only have to be signed once at new admission] Parents must sign for under age children
Shelter Plus Care Statement of Understanding
 (all family members age 18 and over)
Zero Income Reporting Forms (if applicable)

 

Make sure all forms are completed in their entirety.

  • Confirm that the participant has reported the income status of every family member.
  • Review the following items based on the Family Reporting Form and the reports/verifications provided by DOH and the participant:
                   Income
                   Asset(s)
                   Expense(s)
                   Disability Status
                   Family members
  • Provide the participant with the Request for Tenancy Approval (RFTA). Explain that the RFTA must be completed by the landlord once the participant locates and is approved for a unit.
  • Create a file for new participant. Refer to DOH’s file organization policy for more details.

 

Part Two: Extensions  

Extensions

  • RADs are good for 60 days with two 30-day extensions
  • All requests for extensions to the voucher term must be made in writing by the applicant and submitted to DOH prior to the expiration date of the voucher (or extended term of the voucher).
  • Encourage applicants to use the Housing Search Tracking form supplied in the Applicant Briefing Packet, provide housing search support for participant when necessary.
  • Original issuing agency has 30 days to submit a new application. If a new application is not submitted, the slot is opened up to all agencies within the grant. The first agency to send in an application will receive the Rental Assistance slot.

 

Part Three: Lease-Up

 

Step One: Determine Unit Eligibility

 

Step Two: If Unit Qualifies Based on Calculation

Agency Residential Coordinator

  • Complete a Certificate of Rent Reasonableness form.
  • Schedule an HQS Inspection with the landlord and participant. Both should attend the inspection.
  • Request from landlord a copy of an unsigned lease.

The lease must contain the following information:

  • Names of the owner and participant
  • The unit rented (address, apartment number)
  • The term of the lease (initial term and any provisions for renewal)
  • The amount of monthly rent to owner
  • A specification of what utilities are to be paid by the owner, and what utilities are to be paid by the family. The lease may also contain information on appliances in the unit.

Review the lease for rent concessions


Step Three: If Unit Does Not Qualify Based on Calculation

Agency Residential Coordinator

  • Contact the landlord to inform him/her of the calculation.
  • If the landlord will reduce the rent:
                   Ensure the landlord initials the changes on Request for Tenancy Approval form
                   Educate the participant that the unit is approved, and because the unit is over the payment standard, that
                   he/she will be paying up to 40% of his/her income toward rent and utilities.
                   Complete a new 
Certificate of Rent Reasonableness form based on the new rent amount and schedule an HQS
                   with the participant and landlord if the participant would like to move forward with the unit.
  • If landlord the will not reduce the rent:
                   Contact the participant and inform him/her that the unit does not qualify. If required, provide the participant with
                   a blank RFTA to continue the housing search.


Step Four: Conducting HQS Inspection

Agency Residential Coordinator

  • If the unit does not pass inspection:
                    Communicate with the landlord regarding the estimated timeframe for the repairs.
                    Communicate with the participant whether he/she intends to wait for the unit to be repaired or continue the
                    housing search.
                    If the participant is going to wait for repairs, the residential coordinator follows procedures for re-inspection.
                    Once the unit is in passed status, the residential coordinator contacts participant informing him/her they can sign
                    a lease.
  • If unit passes inspection:
                    The participant and landlord sign the lease. 
                    The 
Shelter Plus Care Housing Assistance Payment Contract is signed by landlord.
                    Provide 
Part C Tenancy Addendum of the HAP Contract to the landlord. Inform the landlord to attach this to
                    the lease.

                    Obtain the following forms from the landlord:
 
                    W-9  *Required
                    Direct Deposit (if applicable)
                    Landlord Obligations
                    Lead Based Paint Disclosure Form 

 

Step Five: Preparation of New Admission Paperwork

Agency Residential Coordinator

Send in paperwork to DOH representative when required:


                    W-9 *Required
                    Request for Tenancy Approval  
                    Copy of lease- all pages including addendums
                    Housing Assistance Payments Contract *When agency owns property 
                    Current income, asset and expense verifications
                    Family Reporting Form including the Supplement to Application  
                    Shelter Plus Care Housing Application & Worksheet 
                    Security Deposit Request 
                    Utility Allowance Schedule
                    Action Identifier and Verification Tracking Form      
                    Income Calculation Worksheet  
                    Medical Calculation Worksheet  
                    HQS Checklist 

 

DOH  

  • Process the new admission in Elite.
  • Mail or email the Agency Residential Coordinator the signed HAP Contract and Rent Change Notice letter.

 

Agency Residential Coordinator

  • Make a copy of HAP Contract and mail the completed HAP Contract including part B and C of the addendum to landlord.
  • File the HAP Contract and Rent Change Notice letter in the participant file, along with all other paperwork.