Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Disaster Designation

Drought leads to Disaster Designation      
Written by Tony Rayl   
Thursday, 10 January 2013


The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced January 9 that it has designated 43 of Colorado’s 64 counties as disaster areas due to ongoing severe drought conditions.

The designations mean that farmers and ranchers in these counties are eligible for additional Farm Service Agency (FSA) assistance.

The FSA administers farm commodity, crop insurance, credit, environmental, conservation, and emergency assistance programs for farmers and ranchers.

Producers in counties designated as primary or contiguous disaster areas are eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans. Colorado counties eligible for assistance include: Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Baca, Bent, Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Cheyenne, Clear Creek, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Denver, Douglas, Eagle, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Gunnison, Huerfano, Jefferson, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lake, Larimer, Las Animas, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Otero, Park, Phillips, Pitkin, Prowers, Pueblo, Saguache, Sedgwick, Summit, Teller, Washington, Weld, and Yuma.

Colorado producers seeking assistance should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.