Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Property Tax Payment Information

Tax Statement Mailing

 

The Property Tax Statement is mailed before the end of January to the owner of record which is the name and mailing address listed on the Tax Roll at the time of the Assessor's certification. The Tax Roll is prepared and maintained by the County Assessor.

 

FAILURE TO RECEIVE A PROPERTY TAX STATEMENT DOES NOT EXEMPT THE TAXPAYER FROM TIMELY PAYMENT OF THE TAXES DUE.

 

If you have not received a tax statement by January 31st, please contact the Treasurer's Office at (970) 854-2822 so that a duplicate statement may be requested. Failure of any person to receive such statement shall not preclude collection by the treasurer of the amount of taxes due and payable. C.R.S. 39-10-103, as amended.

 

Address and Name Change

 

A change of name can only be done by a proper legal document. The Assessor’s Office will make the name change after the document is recorded with the Phillips County Clerk and Recorder’s Office. 

 

A change of address can be submitted by email or by contacting the Phillips County Assessor, 221 S Interocean Ave, Holyoke, CO 80734 in writing or calling (970) 854-3151.

 

Payment Dates

 

Property Taxes are due January 1st for the previous year. Payment may be paid in two equal installments or in one full installment.

 

HALF-PAYMENT OPTION
Last day of February
June 15

FULL PAYMENT OPTION
April 30

 

Only HALF or FULL payments will be accepted. Partial payments are not accepted.

 

When the tax amount is twenty-five dollars ($25.00) or less, the half-payment option does not apply, therefore a single payment must be received by the full payment date.

 

Payments bearing U.S. postmarks reflective of these dates are acceptable.

 

If your payment is postmarked after the deadline date, delinquent interest, as shown below, is added to the tax amount.

 

DELINQUENT INTEREST CHART

DEADLINE

FEBRUARY 28

JUNE 15

APRIL 30

MONTH PAID

HALF TAX OPTION
1ST HALF

HALF TAX OPTION
2ND HALF

FULL TAX OPTION

March

1%

-

-

April

2%

-

-

May

3%

-

1%

June 15

4%

-

2%

June 16 - 30

4%

1%

2%

July

5%

2%

3%

August

6%

3%

4%

 

Delinquent interest after August continues at the rate of 1% a month until tax sale. Additionally, other fees are assessed. Please contact the Treasurer’s office for the specific amounts due.

 

Certified funds are REQUIRED on all payments received after October 1.

 

Where Do I Make Payment?

 

Online credit card payments are accepted. Go to www.officialpayments.com and click on “Local Payment”, then State – “Colorado”, then Entity – “Phillips County Treasurer”, Payment type – “Property Tax Payments.  Your credit card will be charged for the tax payment and a convenience fee.  Depending on when funds are received, it may take 4 days for the payment to be applied. 

 

Payments may be mailed to the Phillips County Treasurer’s Office, PO Box 267, Holyoke, CO 80734. To ensure accurate posting, please include the appropriate payment coupon for each property.

 

You may also make payments at the Treasurer's office at 221 South Interocean Avenue.

 

Mortgage Company Payments

 

Colorado Revised Statutes mandate that the Treasurer mail the Property Tax Statement to the owner of record, as their name and address are listed on the Tax Roll certified by the County Assessor. Your mortgage company DOES NOT receive a copy of the Property Tax Statement. Most mortgage companies perform their own research on the property taxes they are responsible for by your contractual agreement. If you feel your mortgage company needs a copy of your Property Tax Statement, simply send them a photocopy.

 

If you and your mortgage company submit payment, the Treasurer will process the FIRST payment received and return the subsequent payment to the paying party.