Email: Tammy Raschke
8:00 a.m. - 4:45 p.m.
The Moffat County Motor Vehicle Department is responsible for titling, vehicle registration, and issuing license plates.
All motor vehicles and trailers owned or operated by Colorado residents must be titled and registered within 60 days of purchase or 30 days after becoming a resident of Moffat County. Colorado residency is established if you own or operate a business in Colorado, reside in Colorado continuously for 90 days or you obtain employment in Colorado. Proof of insurance is required at time of registration along with secure and verifiable identification. A letter of authorization or a corporate resolution to borrow/grant collateral letter granting permission for the agent to act on behalf of the company and the agent's secure and verifiable identification information are required for any business to complete a new registration transaction.
|Application for Title Form|
|Power of Attorney Form|
|Statement of One and the Same Form|
Temporary permits are issued as a temporary motor vehicle registration for up to 60 days. This gives the seller time to complete transfer of ownership documentation. The purchaser must show the original title, which has been transferred to them or a bill of sale to obtain a permit.
After Hours Purchase CRS 42-3-115(2)(b)
A buyer of a vehicle may operate a vehicle on the highway prior to registering the vehicle when:
The buyer must carry in the vehicle:
Bill of Sale in PDF Format
The State of Colorado issues license plates and placards to qualified persons with disabilities to park in reserved parking spaces.
To be considered “disabled” and eligible for persons with disabilities license plates and/or placards, the applicant must meet one of the criteria below and have it verified in writing by a Medical Professional*.
1. Mobility: Persons who cannot walk two-hundred feet without stopping to rest.
2. Assisted Mobility: Persons who cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
3. Respiratory: Persons who are restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second when measured by spirometry is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty mm/hg on room air or at rest.\
4. Oxygen: Persons who use portable oxygen.
5. Cardiac: Persons who have a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as class III or IV according to the standards of the American Heart Association.
6. Other: Persons who are severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
*Medical Professional means a physician licensed to practice medicine or practicing medicine pursuant to section 12-36-106(3)(i), C.R.S., a podiatrist licensed under article 32 of title 12, C.R.S., or an advanced practice nurse registered pursuant to section
Download a PDF Application for persons with disabilities parking privileges here.
Under Colorado state law, all special mobile machinery, mounted equipment, office trailers and self propelled construction equipment must be registered in the County where it is located. Equipment that is operated on or carried over public streets or highways to a work site must be registered with the County Clerk so current proof of taxes paid is visible to law enforcement agencies. Other equipment must be listed with the County Assessor for the collection of personal property tax.
An information worksheet will need to be completed for each piece of equipment being registered. If the equipment that is being registered is owned by a company, our office will also need a contact sheet completed and a letter of authorization, on the company letterhead, for each person that will be transacting business for the company.
Failure to register SMM may result in the assessment of a late fee, and administrative penalty and/or detained or impounding of the machinery with the Colorado Port of Entry.
Download SMM Registration Requirements and Worksheet in PDF format here.
$5.00 per page 8 1/2 x11 and 8 1/2 x14
$10.00 per page over legal size
|Registration||Based on year, weight and taxable value of vehicle|
Colorado Senate Bill 09-108, an increase to vehicle registration late fees, will become law on June 1, 2009, The new law requires a late fee assessment of $25.00 per month for every month past the grace period up to a maximum of $100.00.
Trailers are only assessed a $10 Late Charge Fee.
The new late fees apply to expired registrations, temporary permits and vehicle owners who move to Colorado from out of State and do not register their vehicles within 90 days of residency.
In addition to increasing the late fees, Senate Bill 09-108 increases the amount of registration fees. Increased fees become effective on July 1, 2009 and increase each year through 2012. The table below illustrates the fee increase schedule. Note that the amounts below are in addition to registration fees already assessed.
|2,000 lbs. and under||$22.50||$25.75||$29.00|
|2,001 lbs. - 5,000 lbs.||$32.00||$36.50||$41.00|
|5,001 lbs. - 16,000 lbs.||$39.50||$45.25||$51.00|
|16,0001 lbs. and over||$55.00||$63.00||$71.00|
Sales tax is collected on the purchase price of the vehicle. This is based on where the vehicle is purchased and where the buyer lives. Sales tax fees are as follows:
2.9% State Tax
2% County Tax
2.25% City Tax
Buyer lives in City of Craig and buys in Craig - 7.15%
Buyer lives in County and buys in Craig - 4.9%
Buyer lives in City of Craig and buys in County - 4.9%
Buyer lives in City or County and buys out of County or State - 2.9%