Recording fees are statutory established and all fees will be collected at the time of recording the document. In order for documents to be recorded promptly, please make sure fees are correct and accurate. All documents received with insufficient fees will be returned.
The fees are $11.00 for the first page and $5.00 for each additional page per document. Document that transfers title with consideration exceeding $500.00 will be assessed a State documentary fee of 0.01 cent per $100.00 or 0.10 cents per $1000.00 based on the sale or purchase price of the property.
Personal checks need to be made payable to Costilla County Clerk and Recorder.
The return address needs to be complete and accurate. (Whom the original document should be mailed to after recording) No return envelope is required, but is appreciated!
Please make sure the quality of the document and text is legible. Documents with poor quality produce poor public records.
Document Margins – Colorado Law (CRS 30-10-406(3)(a) requires all documents have a top and bottom margin of at least one inch and a left and right margin of at least ½ inch. The recorder may refuse to file any documents that do not meet these standards.
Deeds – Colorado Law (CRS 38-35-109(2)) requires all deeds need notation of the legal mailing address for the grantee. This address is used to determine where tax statements should be mailed after the property is transferred.
To submit Documents, please send to:
Costilla County Clerk and Recorder
PO Box 308 San Luis, Co 81152
In order to obtain a copy of a deed please send a written request addressed to Costilla County Clerk and Recorder at P.O. Box 308 San Luis, Colorado 81152 requesting the book and page number, which your documents is recorded into Costilla County Records and money to cover the fees. The fees are 0.75 cents per page. You may also request for the document to be certified, which is an additional $1.00 per page. To obtain the deed book and page number you may contact the Costilla County Assessor at (719) 937-7670.
Online Record Searching
All documents from 1997 to present are available online. To view or print these documents please visit icounty.org. There is a daily searching fee of $15.00 per day and 0.25 cents per printed copy. Documents are uploaded daily.
Costilla County Clerk and Recorder also offers Monthly unlimited searching accounts to search documents from 1997 to present for a fee of $200.00 per month. To obtain access to this site please contact our office.
~Coming Soon all documents and maps will be available online~
Questions Regarding Selling/Transferring Property
Please contact the County Assessor at (719) 937-7670.