Here are links to two technical guidance documents on the interpretation and application of firearms legislation during the 2013 legislative session.
As reminder, a transaction fee (currently $10) is required by HB-1228 for the State of Colorado to cover the cost of a background check by the CBI for a firearms transfer. Beginning July 1, 2013, HB-1229 becomes Colorado law and will require a background check on all firearms transfers. Referred to as universal background checks; the new law requires private gun transfers to be subject to a background check facilitated by a Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL). The law states that an FFL can charge up to a maximum of $10 to conduct this type of transaction to defray costs. Any charge by an FFL is in addition to the HB-1228 transaction fee noted above.