Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Firearms FAQ

A NO, according to recent Colorado Legislation, effect July 1, 2013 (HB13-1229) a background check is required for all private transfer of firearms which must be conducted through a licensed firearm dealer (FFL).
A

According to the Federal Firearms Regulation Reference Guide:
The identification document presented by the purchaser must have a photo of the purchaser, name, address, and date of birth, and must be issued by a governmental entity for the purpose of identification of individuals. (e.g. Drivers License) Currently, Colorado Concealed Weapons permits do not constitute a valid ID for the purposes of the firearms background check. However, a Colorado Concealed Weapons permit with a current address may be used to establish residence when the valid ID does not.

A

The State of residence is the State in which an individual is present with the intention of making a home in that State. A member of the Armed Forces on active duty is a resident of the State in which his or her permanent duty station is located. If a member of the Armed Forces maintains a home in one state and the member's permanent duty station is in a nearby State to which he or she commutes each day, then the member may purchase a firearm in either the State where the duty station is located or the State where the home is maintained. A resident alien who is legally in the United States is considered to be a resident of a State only if the alien is residing in that State.

A

18 years of age for long guns, and 21 years of age for handguns.

A

Yes, any person who:

  • Has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.
  • Is a fugitive from justice.
  • Is a unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance.
  • Has been adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution.
  • Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the U.S. or an alien admitted to U.S. under a nonimmigrant visa.
  • Has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.
  • Having renounced their citizenship to the U.S.
  • Is subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing , stalking, or threatening an intimate partner; or
  • Has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. [18 U.S.C. 922(g)]
  • Was adjudicated as a juvenile for an act that would have constituted a felony if committed by an adult.
     
A

No, persons under indictment for a crime punishable for more than one year of imprisonment cannot receive firearms.

A

Yes, this law applies to convictions on any date before or after the law passed.

A

No. The CBI does not limit the number of checks, however, the call is ended if the FFL does not have the paperwork completed with the information necessary to begin a new check. With the steps being taken to reduce the time that dealers spend on "hold" waiting to speak to an operator, we believe that this practice will not be detrimental to smaller volume gun dealers.