Reciprocity can be used to allow a licensed or registered radioactive materials or machine user in another state to work in Colorado temporarily under that license or registration. Reciprocity requires application and Program approval and may include a fee.
Any person or entity desiring to temporarily bring non-exempt radioactive material into Colorado must notify the Radioactive Materials Unit at least three days prior to entering the State, and must receive approval from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (the Department) before actual entrance into the State.
A current copy of the requestor's radioactive materials license must be on file with the Department, and the applicant must have a copy of the State of Colorado Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Radiation Control (6 CCR 1007-1) in possession while in Colorado.
Under the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Radiation Control, 18.104.22.168, the Department will charge an annual management fee for persons operating in the state under reciprocity. The fee for radioactive material brought into the state under reciprocity is equal to 75 percent of the appropriate annual fee in Appendix 12A of the regulations. Reciprocal fees must be paid prior to entry into the state.
A copy of the radioactive materials Reciprocity Request Form can be downloaded in Adobe .pdf format, or can be obtained from Carrie Romanchek at (303) 692-3431.
Any person or entity desiring to bring radiation producing machines into Colorado for temporary use may be granted authorization to conduct activities using these machines for a period up to 180 days in any calendar year. Written notice using form R-200 must be provided to the X-Ray Certification Unit at least fifteen (15) calendar days prior to when the machine is to be used in the State, and written authorization from the Department must be received before actual entrance into the State.
The applicant must have machine registration documentation, written authorization from the Department for in-state activities, a current copy of the applicable parts of the Colorado radiation regulations, documentation that each radiation machine has been evaluated in accordance with the Colorado regulations, and any other documentation as required by the Department in their possession while in Colorado. There is no annual fee associated with radiation producing machine reciprocity.