Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size
Banner

Artificial Tanning Frequently Asked Questions

A

Contact the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment at 303-692-3620.

A

The Artificial Tanning Device Regulations do not specify an age limit. However, artificial tanning businesses can set age limits for artificial tanning device use.

A

Yes. Each artificial tanning device is required to have a control on the equipment to enable the consumer to manually terminate radiation emission from the equipment at any time without disconnecting the electrical plug or removing any ultraviolet lamp.

A

Yes. The tanning facility must give the consumer a copy of a warning statement that addresses ultraviolet radiation.  This consumer warning statement must address the following topics:

  • Photosensitizing medications or cosmetics that may increase sensitivity to ultraviolet radiation exposure may have negative health effects.
  • Different skin types react differently when exposed to ultraviolet radiation.
  • Protective eyewear is required.
  • Situations when tanning is not advised.
A

Yes. Operators must provide customers with protective eyewear during use of tanning equipment.  However, you may use your own protective eyewear if the tanning operator approves it.

A

The Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment does not regulate spray-on tanning.

A

Contact the Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment at 303-692-3620 to obtain an Artificial Tanning Packet. Included in this packet is information on registration requirements, the "Application for Registration of Artificial Tanning Facilities" from the "Artificial Tanning Device Operations Act," and information on obtaining the Artificial Tanning Device Regulations.

Prior to operating the facility, you must submit the "Application for Registration of Artificial Tanning Facilities" and registration fee to

 

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability

4300 Cherry Creek Dr. S., C-1

Denver, CO 80246-1530

A

The registration fee is $120 and is an annual fee. Your artificial tanning facility will be billed each year for this registration. The registration fee for a new artificial tanning business will be prorated on a monthly basis for any initial registration at $10 a month. For example, a new artificial tanning business opening in August will have to pay $50 for the five remaining months of the year. Registrations are non-transferable. New owners must obtain their own license prior to operating.

A

Yes. The replacement lamps must have been certified with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration as "equivalent" lamps.  Equivalency sheets are required to be kept when using a different lamp/bulb than what is indicated on the tanning device. The equivalency sheet gives information regarding the make/model of the lamp/bulb and what other make/models of lamps/bulbs can be used in the tanning equipment.

A

A high percentage of tanning bed bulbs contain heavy metals, particularly mercury. In non-residential settings, all lamps and bulbs containing heavy metals must be disposed of through a permitted recycler for hazardous lighting waste or ensure delivery to a permitted hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facility. Municipal solid waste landfills in Colorado are not permitted to accept any quantity of non-residential hazardous waste for disposal.

 

In Colorado, bulbs must be sent out of state for recycling or disposal. Some local companies will pick up bulbs from facilities and ship them out of state. Other companies utilize mail-in programs. Mail-in programs allow business owners to purchase a postage-prepaid box to hold old bulbs. When the box is full, it is mailed at no extra charge.

A

Items that must be posted on the tanning device are the exposure schedule, lamp designation, certification label and danger statement.

A

Yes. Master timers can be mechanical, digital or computerized. The master time cannot exceed the artificial tanning device maximum recommended exposure time. The master timer must be tested annually and not exceed plus or minus 10 percent of the maximum timer interval for the period. The time test must be documented.

A

Tanning devices and shared protective eyewear are to be properly sanitized by the operator between every use by a consumer. The artificial tanning operator must use a sanitizer that is approved for use in artificial tanning establishments and that is registered by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the Colorado Department of Agriculture. The operator must follow the sanitizer's instructions and ensure the sanitizer has proper contact time with the tanning equipment and eyewear.

  


 Please contact us if you have any further questions