Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size
Banner

Application Process

>

To receive a medical marijuana registration card, you must:

 
Patients are not approved for medical use of marijuana if they previously had a diagnosis of a debilitating medical condition but no longer have an active disease and are not currently undergoing treatment.
V

You must submit a complete application packet, which includes:


  1. Form MMR1001 Application for Registration Card (AP) or MMR1002 Medical Marijuana Registry Card Application for Patients Under 18 Years of Age (MA)

  2. A physician certification (PC) completed by your doctor. This form is included with the application form above.

  3. A copy of your Colorado ID. If you do not have a Colorado ID, submit proof of identity and Colorado residency. The application instructions include a list of documents we accept.

  4. Form MMR1012 Caregiver Acknowledgement and a copy of your caregiver’s valid ID, if a caregiver is listed on your form.

  5. A check or money order made out to CDPHE for the application fee, or form MMR1010 Request for Fee Waiver/Tax Exempt Status and supporting materials.

 

Additional documents may be required for patients who are under the age of 18 or who have an authorized representative who has been legally assigned patient care rights and responsibilities.

>

You must submit a renewal application every year to remain with the Registry.  The renewal process is identical to the new patient application process.  To avoid delays in service, send your paperwork to us 45 to 60 days before your current card expires.

 

Do not send your renewal applications to the Registry more than 60 days before the expiration date on your card. Renewal applications received more than 60 days before the expiration date are rejected. Your nonrefundable application fee will be deposited. Then, you will have to submit a new application packet and fee, if decide to renew within the 60-day window.

>

Applications are processed in the order they are received at the Registry. It takes about 35 days for complete, accurate application packets to be processed. Please contact us if you have not received a letter or your card within 35 days.  

Following is the application review process:

  1. Initial Review: The Registry reviews all applications against criteria described in the application instructions. The nonrefundable application fee, if included in the application packet, is cashed.

  2. Approved Application: If  your application packet is complete and has all supporting materials, your card will be mailed to the address on the application.

  3. Rejected Application: If your application packet is inaccurate or incomplete, you will receive a rejection of application letter that details the corrections necessary. You will be given a 60-days reply period in which to make corrections. 

  4. Approved Corrections: When corrections are submitted to the registry, they are reviewed for accuracy and completeness. Corrections are processed based on the date received.Your card will be mailed to you, if the corrections meet requirements and complete your application packet. 

  5. Corrections Beyond 60-Days: If you do not send requested corrections within the 60-day correction window, you must submit a new application packet and application fee.  

  6. Denial:  Denied applications are different than rejected applications.  A denied application means that the applicant has violated a statute or Board of Health regulation and is being denied access to the Registry.  If your application is denied, you must wait six (6) months before re-applying for a medical marijuana registration card.

  7. Appeals: If your application is denied, or the Registry suspends or revokes your current registration card, a notice will be sent to you with details regarding the reason for denial, suspension or revocation. If you disagree with a final decision, you may send a letter to the Registry requesting an appeals hearing. The request for hearing must be received by the Registry within thirty (30) calendar days from the date of the postmark on the notice.

  8.  

>
Standard processing for cards is within 35 days of the date we receive a complete, accurate application. All non-application forms are processed within 4 to 6 weeks from the date we receive a complete, accurate form.
 
Additional processing time may be required for the following reasons:
  • Paperwork is incomplete and requires follow-up from the patient.
  • The signing physician is not listed as an active participant in the Registry.
  • Documents submitted are non-standard and require additional verification.
  • Patient identifying information (name, social security number, date of birth) does not match the Registry’s database or other state verification systems.
  • Patient submits a non-Colorado ID for proof of identification or residency.
If your form has taken longer than the standard processing time, please contact us to check the status.
>

Most applications and forms take 4 to 6 weeks for processing.  To check the status, contact us by phone or email.  You will be asked to provide the following information to protect your confidentiality:

 

  • Full, legal name

  • Date of birth

  • First five digits of your social security number*

  • Current mailing address

  •  

 
*If you would prefer not to provide your social security number, the representative may ask you an alternate question from your records.
>
You should have received a rejection letter with correction details if your application or form was rejected.  Please contact us if you need further assistance. 
 
Top 10 Reasons for Rejection
  1.   Not all required paperwork was submitted.
    1. A complete application packet includes: application form, physician certification, proof of identification and residency, and application fee or a completed form MMR 1010 Request for Fee Waiver/Tax Exempt Status form. If a caregiver is listed on the form, a copy of form MMR 1012 Caregiver Acknowledgment and the caregiver’s ID is also required.

    2. Other forms must be filled out completely and be submitted with a copy of the patient’s proof of identification. If a caregiver is listed on the form, a copy of form MMR 1012 Caregiver Acknowledgment and the caregiver’s ID is also required.

  2. A form was incomplete, not all required information was provided.

  3. Corrections were made on the form by using white-out or by writing over existing information.

  4. The patient’s signature date and the notary’s signature date were not the same.

  5. The forms were not submitted within the required time period. 

    1. Applications must be submitted within 60 days of the physician’s signature on the physician certification.

    2. All other forms must be submitted within 10 days of the patient’s signature date.

  6. The notary section was incorrect or the notary was not active according to the Secretary of State.

  7. The recommending physician does not have a copy of his/her DEA certification on file with the Registry.

  8. The physician certification was completed by a non-qualifying medical professional such as a physician’s assistant, nurse or a physician with conditions on his/her license.

  9. The patient submitted the wrong form, or an old version of the form. 

  10. The patient’s unique identifying information does not match information in the Registry database.

    1. The social security number does not match the database or is the same as the number on another patient’s record.

    2. The patient has changed names but did not submit a certified copy of legal name change paperwork.

 

 

 

>
Verify Application Status - Rejection versus Denial

Most often, patients have applications that are rejected not denied.  If your application was rejected, you will receive a rejection letter that details the corrections that can be submitted to complete the application process. An application is denied when it violates a state statute or Board of Health regulation.

 
 
Reasons for Denial

Per Colorado Board of Health rules, we may deny an application for any of the following reasons:

  • The physician recommendation is falsified;

  • Any information on the application is falsified;

  • The identification card that is presented with the application is not the patient’s identification card;

  • The applicant is not a Colorado resident;

  • If the department has twice rejected the patient’s application, and the applicant’s third submission is incomplete.

 

Patients whose applications are in the denial process will receive a Letter of Intent to Deny. This letter details the reasons for denial and the appeals process. 

 

Re-application Process 

If the department denies an application, then the applicant may not submit a new application until six months following the date of denial and may not use the application as a registry card. If the basis for denial is falsification, law enforcement shall be notified of any fraud issues.

 

Appeals Process

If your application has been denied or your card has been revoked, you will receive a Notice of Intent letter. If you disagree with the Registry’s decision, you may write the Registry  to request an appeals hearing. Address your request to the ‘Appeals Committee,’ and include your full legal name and the last four digits of your social security number. We must receive the request within 30 days from the postmark date on the letter. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the state Administrative Procedures Act, § 24-4-101 et seq., C.R.S. If a hearing is not requested within thirty (30) calendar days, you are deemed to have waived the opportunity for a hearing.