Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size
Banner

Delayed Registration of Birth

Delayed Birth Certificate Heirloom Sample

 
The Delayed Birth Certificate Heirloom is available for births that have occurred in Colorado. Heirlooms can be requested by the registrant or any immediate family member. Proof of identification and relationship is required.


  • These commemorative certificates are suitable for framing.

According to the Colorado Revised Statutes (25-2-114) in conjunction with the Code of Colorado Regulations (5 C.C.R 1006-1), any person born in Colorado whose birth was not recorded with the Office of the State Registrar of Vital Statistics may request the registration of a ‘delayed’ certificate of birth.

Before you can request to register a delayed birth certificate, you must first verify whether or not you have a registered birth record on file with the Office of the State Registrar of Vital Statistics.

 

STEP #1. REQUEST A SEARCH

Submit the following:

  • A Birth Certificate Application (English) pdf file to search the birth records maintained in State Vital Statistics Office
  • $17.75 search fee (non-refundable)
  • Valid I.D. (Identification requirements are listed on the application)

If a birth record is not found a ‘Notification of No Record’ will be issued to the requestor. Instructions and a application to request the registration of a delayed birth certificate will also be provided.

 

STEP #2. APPLY FOR DELAYED BIRTH REGISTRATION

Once the requestor receives the ‘Notification of No Record’ they may apply for the registration of a delayed birth certificate if they are an eligible party.

*Eligible parties who may request the registration of a delayed birth certificate:
(a) Registrant (person whose birth was not registered)
(b) One of the parents of the registrant, or
(c) The guardian of the registrant, or
(d) Any older person in his immediate family having personal knowledge of the facts of birth.


To apply submit the following:
 

  • Application to Register a Delayed Birth Certificate
  • Photocopy of the ‘Notification of No Record’
  • $37.75 processing fee (non-refundable)
  • The processing fee includes issuance of one certified copy of the delayed birth certificate after it has been accepted for registration.
  • Valid I.D.
  • Required documents to support the birth facts.
    (List of Supporting Documents pdf file to support birth facts is found on reverse side of the Application to Register a Delayed Birth Certificate application)

The supporting documents will be reviewed and verified with the issuing entity. This part of the process may be lengthy and can take up to one (1) year depending upon the turnaround processing time between Vital Statistics and the issuing entity.

 

STEP #3. REGISTRATION

If the requirements are met, a delayed birth certificate will be registered with the Office of the State Registrar of Vital Statistics.

 

Supporting Documents pdf file  

 

If documentary evidence is deficient or invalid, the certificate shall NOT be registered in accordance to the Colorado Revised Statutes (25-2-114)

 

Contact Information:
Blanca Casillas, Delayed Records Specialist
Office of the State Registrar of Vital Statistics
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246
blanca.casillas@state.co.us     303.692.2188