Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size
Banner

Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry Home Page

The Medical Marijuana Registry is a confidential, statewide program that allows patients with qualifying, debilitating medical conditions to receive a registry identification card for legal access to medical marijuana. Cards are available to Colorado residents and valid only in Colorado. 

 

We only issue registry identification cards and maintain the database of registered patients. For questions about medical marijuana centers or caregiver cultivation sites please visit the Marijuana Enforcement Division at the Department of Revenue for more information.   

 

Sign up to receive electronic updates.

 

Hot Topics 

V
The Department hosted a Town Hall Meeting  on March 28 at the state Capitol. The purpose of the meeting was to introduce proposed legislation to address Office of the State Auditor’s recommendations regarding contractors and caregiver limits, introduce a new department policy on the review of medical necessity, and provide the opportunity for public comment to the proposed legislation as well as the department's new policy on medical necessity review.  A copy of the draft Legislative Audit Committee bill presented at the meeting and a summary of public comments are available for review. A letter was sent on April 1, 2014 to inform all physicians active on the Registry  about the change in Department procedures. Please send feedback to physicianreview@state.co.us.
 
V
Effective February 1, 2014, the application fee is $15 . 
 
The Board of Health approved the Department's recommendation for a reduced fee at the December 18, 2013 meeting. Meeting minutes and details of the proposal are available on their website.
V
Our new blog provides an interactive opportunity for community partners to work collaboratively with the Registry to support Colorado citizens' needs for legal access to medical marijuana. Subscribe today to become part of the community discussion.
>

New forms have been released to reflect the change in application fee.  Forms with the August 2013 revision date will be accepted until July 1, 2014. 

Revisions to existing forms:
  • Change in application fee:  The application fee has been reduced to $15.
  • Authorized representative instructions: Guidance has been added to form instructions regarding the paperwork required to prove that a third-party has been granted legal patient care rights and responsibilities.
  • Parental signature instructions: Notice was added to all forms that the primary parent or legal guardian's signature is required on all forms for patients under the age of 18.
     
>

 

Effective July 1, 2011, Colorado Revised Statute 12-43.3-402. Medical marijuana center license rules were amended to allow Medical Marijuana Centers to accept copies of new applications as temporary proof of registry. To present application as proof of registration, the patient must provide the following:

    • A new application packet including the application and physician’s certification. Patients may not show renewal paperwork as proof of registry.
    • A certified mail return receipt with a mailing date no more than 35 days old.
    • A valid picture ID that matches the name on the application.

For more information, visit our Medical Marijuana Centers page.