Updated June 8, 2012
By federal law, to continue paying state extended benefits, states must maintain an average three-month unemployment rate of 6.5 percent or higher and have an average three-month unemployment rate that is 110 percent of one of the last three years for the same three-month period. Colorado’s three-month average unemployment rate recently fell below the 110 percent threshold. As a result, Colorado no longer qualifies to continue paying state extended benefits.
The last week you will receive payment for state extended benefits is the week ending May 12, 2012. By law you cannot be paid state extended benefits after May 12, 2012, regardless of the balance remaining. This is true even if the last day of your claim is after that date.
If you have run out of all benefits, including state extended benefits, you may stop requesting payment.