Minimum Wage

 

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 30 Adopted

The Division of Labor has adopted Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 30 to reflect the new state minimum wage of $8.00 per hour effective January 1, 2014.

 

Colorado State Minimum Wage

Effective Date

Minimum Wage

Tipped Employee Wage

January 1, 2014

$8.00

$4.98

January 1, 2013 - December 31, 2013 $7.78 $4.76

January 1, 2012 - December 31, 2012

$7.64 $4.62

January 1, 2011 - December 31, 2011

$7.36

$4.34

January 1, 2010 - December 31, 2010

$7.24

$4.22

Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution requires the Colorado minimum wage to be adjusted annually for inflation, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for Colorado.

No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of tipped employees.

 

 

Colorado State 2013 Minimum Wage

In accordance with the inflation adjustment requirement of Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution, the Director of the Division of Labor has adopted Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29 to reflect the new state minimum wage of $7.78 per hour effective January 1, 2012.

Colorado Minimum Wage Fact Sheet
Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29
Colorado Minimum Wage Order 29 Fact Sheet

 

Colorado State Minimum Wage vs Federal Minimum Wage

 

Minimum Wage

If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage. Federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour, which is lower than the Colorado state minimum wage of $8.00. Therefore, based upon current information, covered employers in Colorado will have to pay their employees the higher value of $8.00 per hour under Colorado law beginning January 1, 2014.

Tipped Minimum Wage

If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage for tipped employees. Federal tipped minimum wage is currently $2.13 per hour, which is lower than the Colorado tipped minimum wage of $4.98 per hour. Therefore, based upon current information, covered employers in Colorado will have to pay their tipped employees the higher value of $4.98 per hour under Colorado law beginning January 1, 2014.

If an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $4.98 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference in cash wages.

 

References

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 30 (effective 1/1/14)
Colorado Constitution, Article XVIII, Section 15
Fair Labor Standards Act
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
BLS Press Release of August 15, 2013

 

Websites

Federal Minimum Wage
Federal Minimum Wage Poster
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division

Quick Links

Colorado Minimum Wage Fact Sheet
Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 30 Poster (effective 1/1/14)
Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 30 Fact Sheet (effective 1/1/14)