Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Child Welfare Executive Leadership Council

The purpose of the Executive Director’s Child Welfare Executive Leadership Council (CWELC) is to advise the Colorado Department of Human Services regarding policy, budget and program issues that impact the safety, permanence and well-being of Colorado’s children and families. The Executive Council will report on progress in achieving its stated goals. Members are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Executive Director of the Department of Human Services.


Reggie Bicha, Colorado Department of Human Services Executive Director - Chair
Sister Michael Dolores Allegri, Colorado State Foster Parent Association
Skip Barber, Colorado Association of Family & Children's Agencies, Inc
Scott Bates, Colorado Children's Trust Fund
Sue Birch, Department of Health Care Policy and Financing Executive Director
Deborah Cave, Colorado Coalition of Adoptive Families
Sallie Clark, El Paso County Commissioner
Bill DeLisio, Colorado State Judicial Branch Family Law Program Manager
Meha Desai, The Annie E. Casey Foundation, Child Welfare Strategy Group
Cindy Domenico, Boulder County Commissioner
Allan Gerstle, San Miguel and Ouray counties social services
Jack Hilbert, Douglas County Commissioner
Bill Hildenbrand, Savio
Ernest House, Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs
Steve Johnson, Larimer County Commissioner
Susan Kelly, Casey Family Programs
Marilyn Kennerson, Children's Bureau, Region 8, Administration for Children and Families
Barbara Kirkmeyer, Weld County Commissioner
Julie Krow, CHDS Office of Children Youth and Families
Dick Krugman, University of Colorado Denver
Penny May, Denver Human Services
Kim Mauthe, Teller County Department of Social Services
Elaine Newton, Heartbeat
Jerene Peterson, Mile High United Way
Doug Price, Telluride Economic Summit on Early Childhood Investment
Ginny Riley, Larimer County Human Services
Sheriff Grayson Robinson, Arapahoe County
Peg Rudden, Advocates for Children
Des Runyan, The Kempe Center
Nancy Sharpe,Arapahoe County Commissioner
Mary Anne Snyder,Office of Early Childhood Director's Office
Stephanie Villafuerte, Rocky Mountain Children's Law Center
Chris Watney, Colorado Children's Campaign
Linda Wienerman, Colorado Office of the Child's Representative

Regular information regarding this committee will be posted on this page such as meeting notices, agendas and communications. 

2014 Meeting Schedule

March 13, 8:30 am – 11:30 am
Colorado History Museum, 1200 Broadway, Denver, CO 80203

June 12, 8:30 am – 11:30 am
Colorado History Museum, 1200 Broadway, Denver, CO 80203
September 11, 8:30 am – 11:30 am
Colorado History Museum, 1200 Broadway, Denver, CO 80203
December 11, 8:30 am – 11:30 am - CANCELED
Colorado History Museum, 1200 Broadway, Denver, CO 8023


Visit the Child Welfare Committee and Groups menu to the left for information on other committees, subcommittees, and workgroups working together to improve services for Colorado children, youth and families. Meetings are open to all community partners. If you have any questions regarding this committee or plan on attending a meeting, please contact the following staff member:


Sandy Hung

Assistant to Julie Krow and Robert Werthwein

303.866.4119  I  sandy.hung@state.co.us