Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Differential Response

The Colorado Consortium on Differential Response, a group comprised of five counties and the Colorado Department of Human Services (CDHS), applied for and received a $1.8 million federal research and development grant to fund a pilot project examining the effects of a differential response practice model on outcomes for children and families. In addition to the CDHS Division of Child Welfare; the consortium consists of Colorado State University; and the counties of Arapahoe, Fremont, Garfield, Jefferson and Larimer. The consortium, under the direction of a management team, plans to implement and evaluate this model in these counties as a four-year research pilot project between February 1, 2010 and June 30, 2013. All 64 counties were invited to participate in this consortium, and these five were selected through an application process for their dedication to innovative and collaborative practice.

On March 24, 2012 the Governor Hickenlooper signed the Differential Response (DR) expansion legislation to include additional counties in Colorado.  The first round of counties to participate in the expansion will be selected in the summer of 2012 and will begin the process of implementing Differential Response.


Quick Links

Coordinating with Law Enforcement

Randomizer Procedure

Accessing Substance Abuse Disorder Treatment

Practice Model for Differential Response

Screening Guide

Case Flows

Family Assessment Response Service Plan

New Information and New Referrals Guide

Agency Response Guide

A Guide to Documentation in the Framework

Case Closure Checklist 

Implementation Guide