Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Projects for Assistance in Transition from Homelessness (PATH)


The PATH Program is a federal formula grant to assist homeless persons with serious mental illness. The grant was authorized under the Stewart B. McKinney Homeless Assistance Amendments Act of 1990 (Public Law 101-645, Title V, Subtitle B), and is administered by the Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS). PATH is designed to provide funds to each state to support services for persons with serious mental illnesses, as well as individuals with co-occurring substance use disorders, who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless. Additional information regarding the federal PATH program is available at www.pathprogram.samhsa.gov



The Office of Behavioral Health receives PATH funding that is dispersed to Community Mental Health Centers and other organizations serving individuals with serious mental illnesses who are also homeless. The overall objectives of the program are:


  • To identify homeless individuals with serious mental illness and their families and to deliver the appropriate mental health services.
  • To improve the local area’s coordination and collaboration efforts around services to homeless individuals and families and to improve the accessibility of these services.
  • To impact and reduce homelessness in Colorado.



The services supported by PATH funding include outreach, screening and diagnostic treatment, community mental health services, alcohol and drug treatment, staff training, case management, housing assistance, supportive services in residential settings, outreach and services to youth in transition, psychiatric medication management services, and referrals for other services. Colorado PATH sites have also focused on efforts to increase benefits acquisition and retention efforts.



Currently, the geographic areas of the state that received PATH funds are as follows: The Colorado Coalition for the Homeless serves primarily Denver and Boulder counties. However, services are available in the entire metropolitan Denver area. The Spanish Peaks Mental Health Center provides PATH services to Pueblo County. The San Luis Valley Comprehensive Community Mental Health Center serves the six counties of San Luis Valley in the southern region of Colorado. Northeast Behavioral Health provides services to the northeast region of the State, including Ft. Collins, Greeley, and Fort Morgan.