Extension of Time to File -- How do I
you canít file your Colorado individual income tax return by
the deadline you may take advantage of the stateís automatic
six-month extension of time to file. There is no form, paper or
electronic, to fill out to notify the Department of Revenue that you are
taking the extension.
Thereís no extension for tax due
extension applies to filing Colorado income tax information, either on
paper or electronically, not to any state income tax you may owe. If
you expect to get a refund this year but do not make the
filing deadline, you can still file your state income tax on or before October
But, if you owe state income tax, 90 percent of the tax
liability must be paid on or before the April 15 to avoid penalties. Any
remaining balance due would be subject to interest only.
are my payment options?
Pay Online. Visit Revenue Online, Look
under "For Individuals" and choose Make an Electronic Payament. Through Revenue Online you can pay tax by credit card or echeck. The
system will calculate the total tax owed, plus interest and penalty.
The day you make the payment is noted in your account. No waiting for
the department to process your check.
paying using our electronic
check or credit card
Online Tax Payment service. The online service includes an
administrative fee. For credit card transactions, the administrative
processing fee is the amount due plus $0.77 multiplied by 2.25%. If you
choose to pay with cash in the form of an echeck, the administrative
processing fee is discounted to $1.00 per transaction.
To ensure your mailed
payment is credited to your account, include your Social Security number(s) on the payment voucher. If you do not use the payment voucher,
be sure to include your SSN(s) on the payment and indicate that the
payment is for a specific income tax year. Otherwise, a nonfiler notice may be
Mail in a check with the "tax year Extension
Payment Voucher for Colorado Individual Income Tax" (DR 158-I). The
voucher is inside the
Colorado 104 income tax booklet.
Back to Common
Back to Taxation Web site